# DRAFT

# Minutes of the July 26, 2021- Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on July 26, 2021, at 6:00 p.m. at the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road, Coppell, Texas. The meeting was called to order by President Nichole Bentley at 6:00 p.m.

Members present: Nichole Bentley, President; Leigh Walker, Vice President; Manish Sethi, Secretary; David Caviness; Anthony Hill; Dr. Neena Biswas; and Tracy Fisher

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on July 22, 2021 at 11:00 a.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant; Greg Axelson; Dr. Deana Dynis; Kristen Eichel; Dr. Angie Applegate; Diana Sircar; Stephen McGilvray; Jennifer Villines; Angela Brown; James Holloway and Amanda Simpson

#### DISTRICT HIGHLIGHTS

Superintendent Hunt provided the following District Highlights in Coppell ISD:

- Summer Professional Learning
- Victory Place @ Coppell Achieves Great Expectations Model School Status
- CHS Theatre Wins Local Choreography Award

#### AWARDS

- Arnav Kashyap Wins National Debate Champion Ship
- State School Safety Spotlight Awards

#### INVOCATION AND PLEDGE

Trustee Leigh Walker gave the invocation and led the Pledge.

#### OPEN FORUM

Opportunity to speak in person or have a statement read in Open Forum was provided to the community.

These members of the community spoke in Open Forum:

- Jennifer Johnson regarding COVID measures (in-person)
- Phillip Reeder regarding COVID-19 Precautions (statement read by CISD Staff)

# DRAFT

## DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – SUPERINTENDENT

Diana Sircar, Chief Financial Officer, discussed the 2021-2022 Budget.

Dr. Angie Applegate (Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum & Instruction) and Dr. Deana Dynis (Executive Director of Teaching & Learning) provided a Community Based Accounting Systems (CBAS) update to the Board. Lastly, Dr. Deana Dynis (Executive Director of Teaching & Learning) presented a District of Innovation update.

## <u>CONSENT</u>

President Nichole Bentley requested to remove the Special Meeting Minutes for July 7, 2021 from the consent agenda.

David Caviness made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items as presented with the exception of the July 7, 2021 Special Meeting Minutes:

- 1. Approve the minutes of the regular meeting held on June 21, 2021
- 2. Approve monthly 2020-2021 Budget Amendments
- 3. Approve Financial Report for June 2021
- 4. Approve Resolution for Prospering Pals Purchasing Cooperative Interlocal Agreement
- 5. Approve 2021-2022 Appraisal Calendar and Second Appraisers

Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Nichole Bentley motioned to modify the July 7, 2021 Special meeting minutes to reflect an adjournment time of 9:00 AM instead of 9:00 PM. Tracy Fisher seconded the motion. The motion passed 7-0.

## <u>ACTION</u>

A motion was made by Manish Sethi to adopt the Coppell ISD 2021-2022 Student Code of Conduct as presented. Anthony Hill seconded the motion and the motion passed 7-0

A motion to adopt the resolution updating the policy CB(LOCAL) as presented was made by David Caviness. The motion was seconded by Manish Sethi and passed 7-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve Cloud Ingenuity LLC and Cyber Watch Systems, LLC to implement a network detection and response solution for the sum of \$945,438.60. David Caviness seconded the motion. The motion passed 7-0.

A motion to approve the purchase of the Lightspeed Systems solution Suite through SHI for the sum of \$439,850 was made by David Caviness and seconded by Manish Sethi. The motion passed 7-0.

# DRAFT

#### **DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

- Leadership TASB 2021-2022 Manish Sethi
- Coppell Chamber Education Committee Anthony Hill
- Legislative Update Tracy Fisher

At 7:49 p.m., President Bentley declared the Board in Close Session as authorized under Government Code of Texas as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters).

President Bentley declared the Board in Open Session at 8:27 p.m.

No action was taken following Closed Session.

#### ADJOURNMENT

Leigh Walker made a motion to adjourn the meeting and David Caviness seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 8:27p.m.

Nichole Bentley, Board President

Manish Sethi, Secretary