# **DRAFT**

# Minutes of the May 21, 2018 - Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on May 21, 2018, at 5:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President Tracy Fisher.

Members present: Tracy Fisher, President; Leigh Walker, Secretary; Anthony Hill; Thom Hulme (arrived at 6:50 p.m.); and David Caviness. A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on May 18, 2018 at 3:00 p.m.

Great Educators Matter (GEM) recognition was held in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building.

# **NEW BUSINESS**

On May 14, 2018, the Coppell ISD Board of Trustees adopted an Order Declaring Results of the Trustee General Election held on May 5, 2018, and an Order Declaring Results of the Trustee Special Election held on May 5, 2018. A Certificate of Election was issued to the newly elected trustees at that time.

Kay Ryon, Notary Public, administered the Officer's Statement and Oath of Office to the newly elected Board members: Nichole Bentley (Place 6), Tracy Fisher (Place 7), and Manish Sethi (Place 2).

At 6:09 p.m., President Fisher declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters).

President Fisher declared the Board in Open Session at 7:05 p.m.

Staff present: Brad Hunt, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Administrative Assistant; Sid Grant; Kelly Penny; Dr. Angie Applegate; Kristen Streeter; Dr. Shane Conklin; Diana Sircar; Deana Dynis; Louis Macias; Tammy Taylor; Amanda Simpson; Tamerah Ringo; Stephen McGilvray; Ron-Marie Johnson; Steffany Batik and Cody Koontz

A motion was made by Anthony Hill and seconded by David Caviness to accept the new hires as recommended by the Superintendent. The motion carried 6-0.

# **DISTRICT HIGHLIGHTS**

Superintendent Hunt provided the following District Highlights in Coppell ISD:

- A. Great Educators Matter (GEM) Recognition
- B. CMS West Run4Allison Challenge Based Learning Project
- C. Pinkerton, Lakeside and Coppell High School join Cottonwood Creek as Healthy Zone Campuses
- D. Texas Elementary Principals and Supervisors Association (TEPSA) Student Leadership Award to Lakeside Elementary, Mockingbird Elementary and Wilson Elementary
- E. Recent CHS Athletics Highlights Soccer, Track and Swimming
- F. Coppell Middle School West YMCA Youth and Government Club Success at State Competition
- G. Coppell High School Teacher, Mike Yakubovsky, receives Air Force Association Seidel Dallas Chapter Teacher of the Year 2017-2018

# **AWARDS**

- A. Youth and Government State Winner Mahati Sudhagar (CMS West)
- B. State Science Olympiad Coppell High School and Coppell Middle School North
- C. National Runner-up in Orise I Love Robotics Competition Ayush Roychowdhury (Coppell High School)
- D. State Visual Arts Scholastic Event (VASE)
- E. Top 10 Graduating Seniors Coppell High School and New Tech High @ Coppell
- F. District Teachers of the Year

David Caviness gave the invocation and led the Pledge.

# **OPEN FORUM**

The following individuals addressed the Board of Trustees during the Open Forum section of the meeting:

- Saket Ashar Extracurricular Clubs
- Rohan Maheshwari Extracurricular Clubs
- Sahana Rao CTE Policy (Extracurricular Clubs)
- Benjamin Wang Extracurricular Clubs
- Austin Erikson, Owen Borchers, Eshan Inamdar, Scott Fishpay, Spencer Hemberger IB Exhibition
- Brian Black School Security
- John Valentine School Safety Plan for CISD

#### DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – SUPERINTENDENT

- A. School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Update Dr. Shane Conklin, Director of Student and Staff Services, and Susan Zeff, Parent Volunteer
- B. Safety and Security Report Dr. Shane Conklin, Director of Student and Staff Services

- C. Bond Project Update Louis Macias, Executive Director of Facilities and Special Projects
- D. Coppell Middle School East Renovation and Design Sid Grant, Associate Superintendent, and Erin Bossart, Corgan
- E. Update on 2018-2019 District Improvement Plan Dr. Angie Applegate, Assistant Superintendent for Curriculum and Instruction

# **DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS – BOARD OF TRUSTEES**

- A. Tracy Fisher Legislative Report
- B. Thom Hulme National School Boards Association (NSBA) 2018 Conference
- C. David Caviness Bond Oversight Committee
- D. Anthony Hill TASB Risk Management Fund Quarterly Meeting and Members' Conference
- E. Leigh Walker District Education Improvement Council (DEIC)

## **CONSENT**

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve the minutes of regular meeting held on April 23, 2018, and special meeting held on May 14, 2018
- 2. Approve Monthly Budget Amendments for 2017-2018
- 3. Approve Financial Report for April 2018
- 4. Approve Instructional Materials Allotment (IMA) request
- 5. Approve construction material testing consultant for new elementary school site and other 2016 bond construction projects requiring the use of a construction materials testing consultant
- 6. Approve addition of the title of Executive Director of Finance to Board Policy CDA (LOCAL): Other Revenues Investments
- 7. Approve vendor to replace New Tech High @ Coppell's child nutrition cooler and freezer
- 8. Award recommended vendor renewals for the Prospering Pals Purchasing Cooperative

Leigh Walker seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0-1. (Fisher, Walker, Caviness, Hill, Hulme, Sethi voted in favor. There were no votes in opposition. Bentley abstained from voting.)

# **ACTION**

A motion was made by David Caviness and seconded by Nichole Bentley to add, revise, or delete (LOCAL) policies BE (Board Meetings) and DEC (Compensation and Benefits – Leaves and Absences), as recommended and presented. The motion carried 7-0.

A motion to approve amending the 2017-2018 bus transportation (Function 34) budget to include an additional \$994,874 was made by Manish Sethi and seconded by Anthony Hill. The motion carried 7-0.

Nichole Bentley made a motion to approve a proposed TASB resolution that advocates for flexibility in setting the M&O tax rate after a successful Tax Rate Ratification Election. The motion was seconded by David Caviness and carried 7-0.

A motion to approve a proposed TASB resolution that advocates for Chapter 41 school districts being eligible to receive state allotment dollars for student transportation through a reduction in their Robin Hood payment by the amount of their student transportation expenses or through additional state aid was made by Leigh Walker. Manish Sethi seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Item F (Discuss and consider nomination of a CISD trustee for the Region 10, Positions A and D, seats on the TASB Board) was tabled until the next Board meeting.

President Tracy Fisher conducted the election of officers for the Board of Trustees.

David Caviness made a motion to elect Tracy Fisher to the office of President of the Board of Trustees. Nichole Bentley seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Leigh Walker made a motion to elect David Caviness to the office of Vice President of the Board of Trustees. Manish Sethi seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to elect Leigh Walker to the office of Secretary of the Board of Trustees. David Caviness seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

#### **ADJOURNMENT**

Manish Sethi made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Nichole Bentley seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 10:32 p.m.

Tracy Fisher, Board President	
Leigh Walker, Secretary	