Board of School Trustees Hillsboro, Texas

1801 - Minutes of Regular Board Meeting September 10, 2018

The Board met in a Regular Board Meeting, September 10, 2018 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Hillsboro ISD Administration Office Board Room, 121 East Franklin Street, Hillsboro, Texas 76645.

Members present: Chris Teague, President

John Sawyer, Secretary Gerardo Carbajal

Stephanie Johnson Amanda Scarborough

Members absent: Lupe Mancha, Vice-President

Norman Baker

In attendance were: Superintendent Vicki Adams, Joe Adams, Deborah Adkins, Jeanette Avila, Amy Ballentine-Harric, Luke Barnes, Matthew Bell, Sheila Bowman, Angela Boyd, Debbie Butler, Kelsey Butler, Mark Callison, April Chen, Lance Cook, Victor Cortez, Paula Cox, Stephanie Craig, Cindy Darden, Courtney Dow, Sabrina Jusino Dyer, Devon Eller, Yeheni Fuentes, Donald Gordon, Jennifer Grote, Patrick Harvell, Rebecca Lee, Kenneth Lopez, Tia Mansfield, Gerardo Martinez, Chris Mata, Tina Meadors, Becky Montgomery, Kelli Moore, Vanessa Morrison, Stewart Murray, Justin Myers, Raymond Nors, Lacy Oldham, Tiffanye Oliver, Emily Pierce, Belinda Pizano, Laura Popp, Sara Raines, Robin Ralston, Kanyka Reynolds, Barbara Robinson, Sarah Sides, Dale Snyder, Greg Steele, Stephanie Tucker, John Versluis, Regan Wright, and Dustin McDonald from The Reporter.

Chris Teague, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:00 p.m. with a quorum present.

The invocation was delivered by Pastor Phil Hunt from Grace City Church, John Sawyer led the pledge.

New professional staff members were introduced to the board by their principals. There was a short reception welcoming these employees. (from 6:08 p.m. - 6:28 p.m.)

Public Comments - none

Greg Steele and John Versluis gave a HISD Education Foundation report to the board which included financials, fundraisers planned, new board members and volunteers, etc.

15498 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to approve the consent agenda with no changes.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

Correspondence to the board – none

The board accepted the resignation of board member Norman Baker.

15499 – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Stephanie Johnson to approve Paragon Sports to resurface the track. This process was done through Buy Board.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

15500 – Motion by Amanda Scarborough, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to purchase a school bus from Rush Bus Center. This process was done through Buy Board.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

15501 – Motion by Amanda Scarborough, seconded by John Sawyer to approve a TEA Waiver on remote instruction.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

Reports to the Board

Director and Principal reports were given to the board in the packet.

Superintendent's Report

- Facilities
- TASA/TASB Convention, Austin, September 28-30
- Schlechty Board Conference January 4th & 5th save the date

President Teague announced the Board will now recess this open session and convene in a closed meeting to discuss the following item(s) listed on our agenda this evening as allowed by the Texas Government Code (and/or the Texas Education Code):

Agenda Item #16 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.074 – Personnel Matters Agenda Item #17 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.071 – Real Property

"No voting will take place in the closed meeting. Any action the board wishes to take as a result of discussion will take place in open session, 7:05 p.m."

President Teague announced the board has reconvened in open session, 7:49 p.m.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:49 p.m.	
President	Secretary