MINUTES

BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING MAY 9, 2016

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, May 9, 2016, at 5:00 p.m. at the Wylie Early Childhood Library. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Chris McCurley.

Board members present were: Darrell Moore, Stephen Lowry, Chris McCurley, Jeff Rogers, Steve Keenum, and Mike Awtry. Mark McClellan was absent.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Tony Spradlin, Tommy Vaughn, Nick Pruitt, Brad McVay, Shauni Vaughn, Craig Bessent, Lisa Bessent, Robin McPherson, Amonett, Tim Smith, Will Brewer, Lisa Salmon, Terry Hagler, Rob Goodenough, Mike Kerley, Mitch Davis, Phil Boone, Carol Smith and Desiree Clardy.

Guests present: See sign-in sheet.

OPEN FORUM

Michael Pritchard addressed the Board regarding our residency policy.

SPECIAL PRESENTATION

The Board recognized the State DI teams that advanced to Globals competition in Tennessee.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING APPROVED

The minutes of the April 11, 2016 meeting were read. They were approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

A motion to approve the consent agenda was made by Jeff Rogers and seconded by Darrell Moore.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

PUBLIC INPUT ON TITLE FUNDS

A public hearing was conducted regarding the use of the 2015-16 Title funds.

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF AUTHORIZED LONE STAR INVESTMENT POOL

Jeff Rogers made a motion to approve the authorized representatives for the Lone Star REPRESENTATIVES FOR Investment Pool as Joey Light, Mitch Davis and Craig Bessent. Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES MAY 9, 2016 PAGE TWO

DISCUSSION ITEMS

Other items which were discussed but no action taken by the Board included: principal's report on campus activities & enrollment, WHS baccalaureate and graduation, summer budget workshops, and construction update.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 5:55 p.m. to 6:12 p.m. to discuss teacher evaluations and contracts, and employment of personnel for 2016-17.

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

Darrell Moore made a motion to renew teacher contracts of Wylie Early Childhood Center, Wylie Elementary, Wylie Intermediate, Wylie Middle School, Wylie Junior High, and Wylie High School on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2016-17 school year; subject to assignment.

To renew Brenda Sandifer and Shauni Vaughn on a one-year contract for 12 months for the 2016-17 school year; subject to assignment.

To renew Sherry Brown, Caren Christian, Michelle Daniel and Darla Swanner on a one-year contract for 11 months for the 2016-17 school year; subject to assignment.

To renew Alyssa Brown, Mary Edmondson, Leslie Bullock, Amanda Johnson, Melissa Steele, Kristal Noble & Leah Willman on a one-year contract for 10 ½ months for the 2016-17 school year; subject to assignment.

To renew Jennifer Binkley, Robyn Collums, Chelsie Harruff & Kay Whitfield on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2016-17 school year; subject to assignment.

To employ Jonnie Taylor, Robin Ricker, Abby Frymire, Juleigh Stickney, Julie Stewart, Timothy Maskill, Cynthia Cumby, Courtney Freeman, Megan Rausch, Mike Eames, Jessica Watkins & Grace Hebert on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2016-17 school year; subject to assignment.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES MAY 9, 2016 PAGE THREE

	Chris McCurley seconded the motion.
	The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.
OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT	There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Stephen Lowry and seconded by Chris McCurley to adjourn. Official time was 6:15 P.M.
	The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.
Date	
	President
	Secretary