Unofficial Morrow County School District Budget Committee Minutes May 7, 2007

These are minutes of the Morrow County School District Budget Committee meeting of May 7, 2007, held at the District Office board room in Lexington, OR.

BOARD/BUDGET MEMBERS PRESENT:		Craig Miles, Bill Kuhn, Ken Matlack, Barney Lindsay, Nancy VanderDoes, Lisanne Currin, Dan Daltoso, Dan Young, and Greg Barron.
BOARD/BUDGET MEMBERS ABSENT:		Pat McNamee, Berto Hernandez, Dean Mason, Marcia Kemp and Keith Lewis
STAFF MEMBERS PRESENT:		Mark Burrows, Wade Smith and Rhonda Lorenz.
OTHERS PRESENT:	n/a	

Call to Order

Board Chairman Craig Miles called the budget committee meeting to order at 7:05 p.m. at the District Office board room in Lexington, OR. The flag was saluted and a quorum established.

Election of Officers

The first order of business was to elect a chairman and vice chairman.

Motion:	Greg Barron nominated Dan Daltoso as Chairman; Bill Kuhn seconded the motion. With no other nominations for Chairman the following vote was taken:
Ayes:	Miles, Kuhn, VanderDoes, Matlack, Lindsay, Currin, Young, Barron
Noes:	n/a
Abstentions:	Daltoso
Dan Daltoso was elected as Chairman	

Motion:	Greg Barron made a motion to nominate Dan Young for Vice Chairman; Ken Matlack seconded the motion. With no other nominations for Vice Chairman the following vote was taken:
Ayes:	Kuhn, Miles, Matlack, Lindsay, VanderDoes, Daltoso, Barron, Currin
Noes:	n/a
Abstentions:	Young
Dan Young was elected as Vice Chairman	

Establish Meeting Procedures – the meetings will last until 9 pm unless the committee votes to extend the meeting.

Budget Message & Overview of Budget Document

Mr. Burrows reviewed his budget message with the help of a power point presentation. He reviewed what the board has accomplished in the past two years and where the district stands financially. He told the committee that the budget was tight, but with prudent management the district could keep current programs in place and remain solvent.

Questions/Input from Community & Budget Committee

The following questions and/or clarifications were made relating to: proposed reductions in the maintenance plan and technology fund; the legislative bill proposed by the ESD for purchasing ELMOs for all classrooms; proposed staff reductions; completion of the Irrigon High PTE building.

After some discussion about how the budget could be changed to complete the PTE building and install football field lights at Irrigon High it was decided that money to install the football field lights would be available by postponing the \$10,000 gym lighting upgrade to 2009-10 and by increasing the 2007-08 maintenance budget by \$15,000 and decreasing planned painting and maintenance projects at Irrigon High in the 2008-09 budget by \$15,000.

Motion:	Ken Matlack moved to adjust the budget by \$10,000 in 07-08, and increase the budget an additional \$15,000 to install the football field lights at Irrigon High; Dan Young seconded the motion.
Ayes:	Matlack, Young, Barron, Lindsey, Kuhn
Noes:	VanderDoes, Miles, Currin
Abstentions:	Daltoso
Motion passed	

Lisanne Currin asked about the \$500,000 decrease in cash in the budget. Mr. Burrows explained that plans were in place to reverse that trend in the following year as well as in 2009-10.

Rhonda Lorenz provided a replacement page for the Debt Service Fund 301, explaining that when actual tax revenues were recorded a lower tax amount would be approved by the board at the budget hearing in June.

Approval of Budget to Board for Budget Hearing

Motion:	Greg Barron moved to approve the permanent tax rate in the amount of \$4.0342 per \$1000 of assessed value. Ken Matlack seconded the motion.
Ayes	Miles, Currin, Matlack, Daltoso, VanderDoes, Kuhn, Barron, Lindsay, Young
Noes	none
Motion passed	

Motion:	Greg Barron moved to approve Fund 301, Debt Service, for a tax levy in the amount of \$1,125,850. Lisanne Currin seconded the motion.
Ayes	Miles, Currin, Matlack, Daltoso, VanderDoes, Kuhn, Barron, Lindsay, Young
Noes	none
Motion passed	

Motion:	Greg Barron moved to approve all other funds in the total of \$4,072,046. Dan Young seconded the motion.
Ayes	Miles, Currin, Matlack, Daltoso, VanderDoes, Kuhn, Barron, Lindsay, Young
Noes	none
Motion passed	

Chairman Daltoso adjourned the meeting at 8:39 p.m..

Respectfully submitted:

Rhonda Lorenz, Secretary

Dan Daltoso, Chairman of the Budget Committee