Ector County Independent School District Odessa, Texas

Memorandum

TO: Board of Trustees

FROM: Hector Mendez, Superintendent of Schools

SUBJECT: APPROVAL OF ORDER CANVASSING MAY 8, 2010 BOARD OF

TRUSTEES ELECTION RETURNS AND ADMINISTRATION OF BOARD OF

TRUSTEES' OATH OF OFFICE

DATE: May 18, 2010

The Resolution and Order which canvasses the May 8, 2010 Board of Trustees election will be presented under separate cover. Copies of final cumulative and precinct by precinct results from each polling place where trustee positions were contested will also be presented under separate cover.

Incorporated into the Resolution is a finding, declaration, and order that the following candidates were elected to the offices listed below:

Luis Galvan, Trustee, Position 1 Dr. Donna Smith, Trustee, Position 3

Also, included in this agenda item are the issuing certificates of election, statements of elected officer, and the oaths of office for each newly elected trustee. Ray Beaty, unopposed candidate, Position 6 will also be sworn into office. These statements will be retained "with the official records of the office" as required by election law.

It is recommended that the Board of Trustees approve the Resolution and Order canvassing the votes and declaring the winners of the May 8, 2010 trustee election as presented.

Respectfully submitted,

Hector Mendez
Superintendent of Schools

Brian J. MoerschExecutive Director for District Operations