MEMO—OFFICE OF THE PRINCIPAL

Date: February 5, 2019

To: Dr. Kent Mutchler

From: Mr. Tom Rogers

Re: Board Presentation for Tradition of Excellence Award



I want to express my sincere appreciation for the opportunity to present to the Board of Education students whose accomplishments and contributions to Geneva High School exemplify the Tradition of Excellence Award. On Monday, February 11, 2019, we will present to the Board of Education the following students.

A. ILMEA All-State Music Festival:

Veronica Avars – All-State Composition, placed 1st in her division

Chloe Clausen - Honors All State Band

Katie Ellis – All-State Composition

Evan Fenne – All-State Composition, placed 1st in his division

Mary Kassel – Honors All State Band

Teodoro (JJ) Santiago – All State Vocal Ensemble

Annika Templin – Participated in the ILMEA Future Music Educators Seminar

These students were chosen to represent Geneva High School at the **ILMEA** – **Illinois Music Educators Association All-State Conference & Festival** held in Peoria, Illinois January 24-26, 2019. In addition, we will informally recognize **Rachel Carlson** and **Claire Nowak** for running a booth at the ILMEA exposition center, promoting the development of TRI-M in schools across the state. The GHS Music Directors are **Jessica Palmisano**, **Pat Frederick**, **Julie Lawrence** and **Neil Shipton**.

B. Dance Team State Qualifiers:

Fiona McManus **Charlotte Davis** Samantha Scolaro **Emily Mundry Alvssa Del Giudice** Kyla Sheridan **Sydney Sheridan Emma Fuller Kasey Murphy Lauren Gies Madeline ORourke Jillian Twitty** Jeanine Wagner **Katherine Japlon Ashlev Pender** Lilv Karlson **Amanda Werner** Victoria Preston

Kelli Kaufman Ella Schamberger

The GHS Varsity Dance Team earned their 6th consecutive State trophy with a 3rd place finish at the IHSA State Dance Finals held at Illinois State University January 25-26, 2019. The varsity dance team is coached by **Amy VanWagenen**.

Together, these students distinguished themselves, our school and Geneva District #304. Thank you for this opportunity.