## **BOARD ELECTIONS**

## 1. Number of Trustees

The Board will consist of seven members elected by district and will be known as <u>The</u> <u>Board of Trustees of the Lyon County School District</u> <u>district school board</u>. The term of office shall be four years.

## Designation of Board Districts

Board members' positions and their respective successors in office will be designated by numbers as Districts No. 1 (Fernley 1), No. 2 (Fernley 2), No. 3 (Dayton 1), No. 4 (Silver Springs, Stagecoach), No. 5 (Mason Valley), No. 6 (Dayton 2), and No. 7 (Smith Valley, Spragg Plummer, and Mason Valley). In all proceedings for the nomination or election of candidates for or to the office of Board member, every petition for nomination, declaration of candidacy, certificate of nomination, ballot or other document used in connection with the nomination or election will state the position number to which the candidate aspires divided into election districts made up of Lyon County voter precincts as designated by the Lyon County Clerk/Treasurer. Each trustee must be a resident of the election district they will represent throughout their term of office. Trustees are elected by all voters in the county school district.

## **Election Districts**

District No. 1: Precincts 28, 31, 32, 33, 34
District No. 2: Precincts 35, 37, 38, 39, 40
District No. 3: Precincts 9, 10, 11, 14, 17
District No. 4: Precincts 2, 5, 12, 21, 22, 25, 26
District No. 5: Precincts 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8
District No. 6: Precincts 13, 15, 16, 18, 19, 20
District No. 7: Precincts 23, 24, 27, 29, 30, 36

Individuals may seek more than one elected position such as school board and education service district board; individuals may not seek more than one elected position in the same election. [An exception would be if one of the districts has fewer than 10,000 registered voters.]

Reelections for Board positions will occur every four years as follows:

District No. 1: Fall 200420 and every four years thereafter; District No. 2: Fall 200420 and every four years thereafter; District No. 3: Fall 200420 and every four years thereafter; District No. 4: Fall 200420 and every four years thereafter; District No. 5: Fall 200420 and every four years thereafter; District No. 6: Fall 200420 and every four years thereafter; District No. 7: Fall 200420 and every four years thereafter;

Policy #BBB