MINUTES

BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING JUNE 13, 2011

BUDGET WORKSHOP

The Board met from 5:30-6:30 p.m. to work on the 2011-12 budget.

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, June 13, 2011, at 6:30 p.m. in the School Board Room. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Ray Templeton.

Board members present were: Ray Templeton, Darrell Moore, Terry Merck, Jeff Rogers, Becky Rentz, and Steve Keenum. Don Poindexter was absent.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Tommy Vaughn, Shauni Vaughn, Mike Kerley, Nadine Davis, Paul Jensen, Phil Boone, Debbie Lambert, Mitch Davis, Tony Spradlin, Nick Pruitt, Terry Hagler, Lisa Salmon, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests present: Candy Reagan - Wylie Weekly.

OATHS OF OFFICE

The oaths of office were administered by Ray Templeton to newly elected board members; Steve Keenum and Jeff Rogers.

REORGANIZATION OF BOARD

Jeff Rogers nominated Ray Templeton for President of the Board. There being no further nominations, Steve Keenum made a motion that nominations cease and Ray Templeton be elected by acclamation. Terry Merck seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

The floor was opened for nominations for Vice President. Jeff Rogers nominated Terry Merck as Vice President. Darrell Moore made a motion that nominations cease and Terry Merck be elected by acclamation. Steve Keenum seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 13, 2011 PAGE TWO

Nominations were opened for Secretary. Terry Merck nominated Don Poindexter. There being no further nominations, Darrell Moore made a motion that nominations cease and Don Poindexter be elected by acclamation. Steve Keenum seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the May 9, 2011 meeting were read and approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

Steve Keenum made a motion to approve the consent agenda but with the removal of bill listed to NCS Pearson for \$10,112.46. The motion was seconded by Jeff Rogers.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

ELECT TASB VOTING DELEGATE

By consensus of the board, Darrell Moore was selected as voting delegate and Becky Rentz will serve as alternate to the TASB Convention in September 2011.

LOCAL POLICY UPDATE 90

Becky Rentz made a motion to approve Local Policy Update 90-affecting Local Policies: BBD (LOCAL): BOARD MEMBERS -TRAINING ORIENTATION, BBI (LOCAL): BOARD MEMBERS TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES AND ELECTRONIC COMMUNICATIONS, CQ (LOCAL): TECHNOLOGY RESOURCES, CY(LOCAL): INTELLECTUAL PROPERTY, EFE(LOCAL): INSTRUCTIONAL RESOURCES - COPYRIGHTED MATERIAL, EI(LOCAL): ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT , FMH(LOCAL): STUDENT ACTIVITIES - COMMENCEMENT, FNC (LOCAL): STUDENT RIGHTS AND RESPONSIBILITIES - STUDENT CONDUCT, FNCE (LOCAL): STUDENT CONDUCT PERSONAL TELECOMMUNICATIONS/ELECTRONIC DEVICES. Terry Merck seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

INFORMATION ITEMS

Other items discussed but no action taken included: Final ADA report, Class size reduction report, Summer board meetings & workshops, TASB Convention/Austin, TAKS test results, and SPP annual report.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 13, 2011 PAGE THREE

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 7:17 P.M. to 7:54 P.M. to attend to personnel matters and employee benefits.

PERSONNEL ITEMS

Upon the recommendation of Joey Light and the principals, the Board employed the following individuals, on a one year contract for 10 months; subject to assignment; for the 2011-12 school year: Tara Horn, Darren Carson, Mark James and Manuel Cordova. The motion was made by Terry Merck and seconded by Jeff Rogers.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Steve Keenum and seconded by Terry Merck to adjourn. Official time was 7:55 P.M.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

Date		
	President	
	Secretary	