MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF SOUTHWEST TEXAS JUNIOR COLLEGE

December 3, 2015

The Board of Trustees of Southwest Texas Junior College met in regular session December 3, 2015 in the Matthews Student Center – Blue Bonnet Room. Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the meeting to order at 7:00 p.m.

Board members present were:

Rodolfo R. Flores, President Dr. Harry O. Watkins, Vice President Maria Elena Lara Victor Lopez Tony T. Moreno, and Anita Shackelford

Absent was Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary

Also present was Dr. Hector Gonzales, President of the College.

The minutes of the October 15, 2015 regular Board Meeting were read and approved as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice President of Finance.

Board President Flores welcomed guests at the meeting which included college personnel Joe Barker, Anne Tarski, Ismael Martinez, Dr. Mark Underwood, Jesus J. Martinez, Derek Sandoval, Margot Mata, Gilbert Bermea and Wade Carpenter. Also in attendance were Tom Ferrell from Ferrell-Brown & Associates, Paul Sorrels from Sul Ross – Rio Grande College, Eric Ede from Ede and Co., LLC, special guest Polly Lopez, and from the Uvalde Leader News Kim Eagle.

Audience to Patrons: None

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the financial statement as of October 31, 2015 as presented by Anne Tarski, Vice President of Finance. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

SACS-COC Reaffirmation Result report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales. A copy is attached.

Eagle Pass Construction report presented by Thomas Ferrell. A copy is attached.

Adult Education and Literacy Board Integration Award report presented by Dr. Mark Underwood.

President's Report presented by Dr. Hector Gonzales. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Anita Shackelford to accept the 2014-2015 Audited Financial Statement which was presented by Eric Ede of Ede and Co., LLC. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called for a recess at 7:40 p.m. to hold a Special Called Foundation meeting.

The Board President, Rodolfo R. Flores, called the regular meeting back into session at 7:45 p.m.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to award the Crystal City Library bid to Davila with Alternate # 1 as recommended by Administration. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Maria Elena Lara and seconded by Dr. Harry O. Watkins to approve the Eagle Pass Food Service RFP. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Tony T. Moreno to accept the bid for the Eagle Pass Technical Center Exhaust System and recommended that the bid be awarded to C M Fabricators to install the ventilation system. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Tony T. Moreno and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to approve the resolution to cast votes for individuals to serve as directors of the Uvalde County Appraisal District Board. The Board allocated to split votes evenly between the candidates. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Maria Elena Lara to approve the resolution to cast votes for individuals to serve as directors of the Zavala County Appraisal District Board. The Board allocated the votes to candidate Alejandro Perez from La Pryor I.S.D. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Anita Shackelford and seconded by Victor Lopez to approve the resolution to cast votes for individuals to serve as directors of the Real County Appraisal District Board. The Board allocated to split votes evenly between two candidates, Carrie Chisum from Leakey I.S.D. and Shelley Collins from Real County. Motion carried unanimously. A copy is attached.

A motion was made by Victor Lopez and seconded by Anita Shackelford to renew the Crystal City note with First State Bank. Motion carried unanimously.

After convening in open session, Board President Flores called the Board into executive session at 8:10 p.m. to consider:

A. Employees: Terminated/Resigned/Retired/New Hires/and Transfers

Upon returning to open session at 8:45 p.m. Board President Flores called the meeting back into open session and with no further business or action items to discuss, Anita Shackelford made the motion to adjourn. Dr. Harry O. Watkins seconded the motion. Motion carried at 8:45 p.m.

Rodolfo R. Flores, President of the Board	
	Dr. Antonio H. Rivera, Secretary of the Board
Dr. Hector Gonzales, Witness	