Board of School Trustees Hillsboro, Texas

## **1799 -** Minutes of Regular Board Meeting August 13, 2018

The Board met in a Regular Board Meeting, August 13, 2018 beginning at 6:00 p.m. in the Hillsboro ISD Administration Office Board Room, 121 East Franklin Street, Hillsboro, Texas 76645.

Members present:	Chris Teague, President John Sawyer, Secretary Gerardo Carbajal Stanbania Johnson			
	Stephanie Johnson Amanda Scarborough			
Members absent:	Lupe Mancha, Vice-President Norman Baker			

In attendance were: Superintendent Vicki Adams, Joe Adams, Sheila Bowman, Angela Boyd, Paula Cox, Cindy Darden, Donald Gordon, Kathy Groppel, Patrick Harvell, Becky Montgomery, Stewart Murray, Raymond Nors, Tiffanye Oliver, Robin Ralston, Barbara Robinson, Dale Snyder, Stephanie Tucker, and Dustin McDonald from The Reporter.

Chris Teague, Board President, called the meeting to order at 6:01 p.m. with a quorum present.

The invocation was delivered by John Sawyer, Chris Teague led the pledge.

Public Comments – none

Correspondence to the board - none

**15486** – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Stephanie Johnson to approve the consent agenda with no changes.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

**15487** – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by John Sawyer to approve the 2018-2019 Hillsboro ISD Student Code of Conduct.

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

Campus student handbooks were reviewed.

Hillsboro ISD Employee Handbook was reviewed.

## 4799

**15488** – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve the 2018-2019 School breakfast and lunch prices as follows:

	LUNCH PRICES			BREAKFAST PRICES		
	2017-2018	2018-2019	% CHANGE	2017-2018	2018-2019	% CHANGE
HHS	\$2.75	\$3.00	9.09%	\$1.50	\$1.50	0.00%
HJH	\$2.75	\$3.00	9.09%	\$1.50	\$1.50	0.00%
HIS	\$2.75	\$2.75	0.00%	FREE	FREE	0.00%
HES	\$2.75	\$2.75	0.00%	FREE	FREE	0.00%
FES	\$2.50	\$2.50	0.00%	FREE	FREE	0.00%
ADULTS	\$3.25	\$3.75	15.38%	\$1.10	\$2.25	104.55%

Vote: Aye unanimous 5/0

**15489** – Motion by Amanda Scarborough, seconded by Gerardo Carbajal to approve the School District Meal Charge Policy.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

Lupe Mancha arrived at 6:06p.m.

**15490** – Motion by John Sawyer, seconded by Stephanie Johnson to approve Business Supply Center's bid on office supplies for the 2018-2019 school year.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

**15491** – Motion by Stephanie Johnson, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve Dixie LP-Gas's bid on petroleum products for the 2018-2019 school year.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

Business Operations Manual was reviewed.

Special Education Operating Guidelines were reviewed.

**15492** – Motion by Gerardo Carbajal, seconded by Amanda Scarborough to approve TASB's Policy Update 111, affecting local policies:

BBD(LOCAL): BOARD MEMBERS - TRAINING AND ORIENTATION CAA(LOCAL): FISCAL MANAGEMENT GOALS AND OBJECTIVES - FINANCIAL ETHICS CJA(LOCAL): CONTRACTED SERVICES - CRIMINAL HISTORY DEA(LOCAL): COMPENSATION AND BENEFITS - COMPENSATION PLAN DHE(LOCAL): EMPLOYEE STANDARDS OF CONDUCT - SEARCHES AND ALCOHOL/DRUG TESTING DI(LOCAL): EMPLOYEE WELFARE FEA(LOCAL): ATTENDANCE - COMPULSORY ATTENDANCE Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

**15493** – Motion by Amanda Scarborough, seconded by John Sawyer to nominate Gerardo Carbajal as the 2018 TASB Delegate.

Vote: Aye unanimous 6/0

## **Reports to the Board**

Director and Principal reports were given to the board in the packet.

## **Superintendent's Report**

- Facilities
- Meet the Eagles, August 21<sup>st</sup>
- TASA/TASB Convention, Austin, September 28-30
- September Board Meeting, Sept. 10<sup>th</sup> with reception for professional staff new to the district
- August 27<sup>th</sup> Special Called Meeting for Budget & Tax Rate, 6:00 p.m.

President Teague announced the Board will now recess this open session and convene in a closed meeting to discuss the following item(s) listed on our agenda this evening as allowed by the Texas Government Code (and/or the Texas Education Code):

Agenda Item #21 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.074 – Personnel Matters Agenda Item #22 as permitted by Gov't Code §551.071 – Real Property

"No voting will take place in the closed meeting. Any action the board wishes to take as a result of discussion will take place in open session, 6:22 p.m."

President Teague announced the board has reconvened in open session, 7:53 p.m.

Approved by the superintendent through the summer hiring process per board policy were; Deborah Adkins, Jeannette Avila, Sam Burch, Kelsey Butler, Mark Callison, April Chen, Lance Cook, Victor Cortez, Stephanie Craig, Sabrina Dyer, Devon Eller, Patrick Harvell, Rebecca Lee, Serena Lewis, Kenneth Lopez, Taissa Mansfield, Gerardo Martinez, Tina Meadors, Melanie Mims, Vanessa Morrison, Justin Myers, Lacy Oldham, Laura Popp, Sara Raines, Kanyka Reynolds, Amanda Slaten, and Ronda Willett.

The meeting was adjourned at 7:54 p.m.

President

Secretary