

Board of Education

Minutes of Regular School Board Meeting The Board of Education

A Regular School Board Meeting of the Board of Education of Fort Smith Public Schools was held July 30, 2018, beginning at 5:30 PM in the Service Center, Bldg B.

Ms. Susan McFerran, president, called the meeting to order. Other board members present were Ms. Jeannie Cole, Mr. Bill Hanesworth, Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin, Mr. Wade Gilkey and Mr. Greg Magness. Ms. Talicia Richardson was absent. Dr. Doug Brubaker, Superintendent, Dr. Terry Morawski, Deputy Superintendent, Mr. Martin Mahan, Assistant Superintendent of Human Resources and Campus Support, Dr. Barry Owen, Chief Academic Officer, Mr. Charles Warren, Chief Financial Officer, Ms. Zena Featherston Marshall, Executive Director of Communication and Community Partnerships, Mr. Darian Layes, Executive Director of Student Services and Ms. Nadine Brooks, Secretary to the Superintendent were present.

The Pledge of Allegiance was recited and Ms. Keaton-Martin gave the Invocation.

Ms. McFerran read the mission statement.

The consent agenda included the minutes of the June 25 Regular School Board Meeting and July 9 Work Session, June Financial Report, July Student Services Report, Student Handbook Changes for 2018-2019, and naming a board member to serve as ASBA Legislative Liaison for 2018-2019. Mr. Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Keaton-Martin, to approve the consent agenda items as presented. The vote passed 6/0.

SUPERINTENDENT'S REPORT

Resignations

Watson, Gayla Shawhan, Mia Austin, Maureen Boen, Allyson Jasna, Jenny Pierce, Jami Wright, Stephanie Freeny, Terri Ketchum, Candice Holman, Kimberly Tidwell, Ashley,

Retirement

Fitting, Elois Jeannie

Mr. Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Mr. Magness, to accept the resignations and retirement. The vote passed 6/0.

Employment

Herring, Haley Doss, Clyde "Lance" Hartsfield, Aimee Williams, Meredith Watkins, Lillian "Rachelle" Grubbs, Shelby Biddle, Jill Blymiller, Jonathan Atwell, Amanda Powers, Callin Swink, Amber Miller, Jared Hunter, Lacey Johnson, Jessica Gantt, Bryan Arnold, Brian Yamkam, Joelle

Ms. Cole made a motion, seconded by Ms. Keaton-Martin, to approve the recommendations for employment. The vote passed 6/0.

Leave of Absence

Faulkner, Brittany

Ms. Cole made a motion, seconded by Ms. Keaton-Martin, to approve the leave of absence. The vote passed 6/0.

Recognitions

Will Robinson, Wyatt Robinson and Wesley Schwartz, 2018 Southside High School graduates were recognized for winning first place at the Future Business Leaders of America (FBLA) Nationals in Baltimore in Digital Video Production. Their advisor is Dr. Kelley Todd.

Jeff Tomlin, Director of Transportation, was recognized as 2018 President's Star Award winner by the Arkansas Association of Pupil Transportation (AAPT). This is awrded to an active member of AATP for outstanding service and dedication to pupil transportation in the state of Arkansas.

It is the top state award. Mr. Tomlin accepted the award at the annual AAPT conference held July 17 in Hot Springs.

2018/2019 Superintendent's Goals

Dr. Brubaker presented a list of superintendent goals based on the Vision 2023 Strategic Plan, Millage 2018 implementation and other district priorities. Dr. Brubaker stated that these goals will serve as focus areas for the superintendent and the district leadership team during the coming year. Mr. Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Mr. Gilkey, to approve the 2018/2019 Superintendent's Goals. The vote passed 6/0.

CONSIDER CITIZENS MILLAGE ADVISORY COMMITTEE CHARGE (CMAC)

Dr. Brubaker reported that in April and May of 2018 the Board and administration discussed a Citizens Millage Advisory Committee Charge to provide transparency and enhance public confidence in the use of millage funds authorized by Fort Smith Public School voters on May 22, 2018. Dr. Brubaker presented the Citizens Millage Advisory Committee Charge document for board approval. He noted that the list of committee members would be presented at the August board meeting. The purpose of the committee is to monitor the progress of the 2018 millage projects. Mr. Bill Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Mr. Wade Gilkey, to approve the Citizens Millage Advisory Committee Charge as presented. The vote passed 6/0.

CONSIDER ADOPTING BOND ISSUE RESOLUTION

Mr. Warren reported that on July 17, 2018, Stephens Inc., "opened bids" for the \$90 million bond issue. He offered a summary of the process and the recommendation of an interest rate of 3.649302%. This is the best rate offered and better than the 4.0% rate estimated during the millage campaign. The annual savings will be set aside until the remaining \$31 million bond issue can be completed. The administration recommended the Board adopt the resolution to issue bonds on August 15, 2018 for \$90 million. Mr. Warren reported that the savings with the 3.649% rate versus the predicted 4.0% rate reflects an \$8.7 million savings over the term of the loan. Ms. Jeannie Cole made a motion, seconded by Mr. Hanesworth, to adopt the resolution authorizing the bond issue of \$90 million. The vote passed 6/0.

CONSIDER AWARD OF RFQ FOR OWNER'S CONSTRUCTION REPRESENTATIVE/PROJECT MANAGEMENT SERVICES

Dr. Morawski reported that RFQ documents for Owner's Construction Representative/Project Management Services were received on July 11, 2018. The district received three responses from qualified firms. These RFQ submissions were reviewed by a committee on July 13, 2018. Through this evaluation process, all firms were found to meet basic qualifications for the service. Firms were scored and ranked. If this ranking is approved, the administration will negotiate a contract with the highest ranked firm which is HPM Construction Management. Dr. Morawski introduced James Adams, Vice President, of HPM Construction Management. Mr. Adams spoke on behalf of HPM's 20+ years of experience and commitment to a transparent process. He introduced Jerry Polk, Field Manager, who will be on site during projects.

Ms. Keaton-Martin made a motion, seconded by Ms. Cole, to authorize the administration to negotiate and award a contract to the highest ranked firm for Owner's Construction Representative/Project Management. The vote passed 6/0.

CONSIDER A RESOLUTION ADOPTING THE SEBASTIAN COUNTY HAZARD MITIGATION PLAN

Dr. Morawski presented a resolution to adopt the Sebastian County Hazard Mitigation Plan (HMP) discussed at the July 9 work session. Dr. Morawski reported that in order for agencies in the County to be eligible for any funds from FEMA, each participating jurisdiction in Sebastian County must adopt a resolution which affirms its support for the portions of the plan affecting the respective entity.

Dr. Morawski stated that this is also a necessary step before the District can seek additional funds for tornado shelter projects that are included in the millage. Ms. Cole made a motion, seconded by Mr. Gilkey, to approve the resolution adopting the Sebastian County Hazard Mitigation Plan. The vote passed 6/0.

BOARD MEMBERS FORUM

Ms. McFerran invited board members to attend the Partners in Education Conference at Chaffin on August 12.

CITIZEN PARTICIPATION

There was no one present for citizens participation.

ADJOURN: There was no further business and the meeting adjourned at 6:25 p.m.

Susan McFerran, President

Yvonne Keaton-Martin, Secretary