

Board of Education

Minutes of The Board of Education

A Called School Board Meeting of the Board of Education of Fort Smith Public Schools was held Monday, April 16, 2024, beginning at 5:30 PM in the Service Center, Bldg. B, Auditorium, 3205 Jenny Lind, P.O. Box 1948, Fort Smith, AR 72901.

CALL TO ORDER

Mr. Dalton Person, president, called the meeting to order noting seven board members were present. Other board members present were: Mr. Phil Whiteaker, Mr. Davin Chitwood, Mr. Matt Blaylock, Ms. Susan Krafft, Ms. Lynnett Lott, and Ms. Talicia Richardson. District administrators present included: Dr. Terry Morawski, Superintendent; Ms. Shari Cooper, Director, Communications; and Ms. Leslie Phelps, Office Administrative Assistant to the Superintendent. Mr. Marshall Ney, of Friday, Eldridge, and Clark, District Attorney was also in attendance.

SUPERINTENDENT'S ANNUAL EVALUATION

At 5:31 PM the Board and Dr. Morawski went into executive session to discuss the annual evaluation of the superintendent.

Board members and Dr. Morawski returned to open session at 8:04 PM.

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF THE SUPERINTENDENT'S EXTENDED CONTRACT

Ms. Richardson made a motion, seconded by Mr. Blaylock, to approve extending the superintendent's contract an additional year, with no increase to the base salary, and authorizing the Board president and District council to work with Dr. Morawski to finalize and execute the contract. The motion passed 7-0.

ADJOURN

There was no further business and this meeting was adjourned at 8:05 PM.

Dalton Person, President

Davin Chitwood, Secretary