

SOUTHEAST ISLAND SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF EDUCATION

SPECIAL MEETING June 29, 2023

MINUTES

Location:

Remotely via Zoom

CALL TO ORDER

Board President Shannon Silverthorn called the meeting to order at 9:01 AM.

ROLL CALL

Board Members Risa Carlson, Sandy Curtis, Molly Kimzey, Shannon Silverthorn, and William Tyrell attended via audio/video conference.

Quorum: Yes

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Motion: Approve the agenda

By: Tyrell Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0

Resolved: passed

WELCOME TO VISITORS

Board President Shannon Silverthorn welcomed visitors: Melissa Dougherty, Lisa Cates, Laura Anania, Amy Jennings, Terri Kohn, Everett Cook, Mariia Taylor, Rod Morrison, Lucienne Smith, Christi Nixon, Shaine Nixon

PUBLIC COMMENT

Melissa Dougherty commented regarding contract negotiations.

REPORTS

Incoming Superintendent Rod Morrison presented his report to the board.

BUSINESS ITEMS

Motion: Approve the FY 2024 Budget.

By: Curtis
Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0

Resolved: passed

Motion: Approve the FY 2024 teacher contract addendums for Julia Trischman and Patrick Trischman, FY 2024 administrator contract for Astrid Richard-Cook, and FY 2024 classified employment for Branzon Anania, Karen Clark, Alexander Hert, Amy Jennings, Amanda Kiely, Joshua Musser, Angela Near, Christine Page Haufe, Darlene Putman, and Mariia Taylor.

By: Curtis Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0

Resolved: passed

Motion: Approve the FY 2024 Administrative Contract, pending receipt of required documentation, for Nathan Freeman. as well as [FY 2024 teacher contract pending receipt of required documentation for] John Walsh.

By: Curtis Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0

Resolved: passed

Motion: Approve those contracts [FY 2024 professional services contracts with Alaska

Speech Trooper, Mary Jane Rapport, and Tara-Renee H. Whalen].

By: Curtis Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0

Resolved: passed

Motion: Ratify the 2023-2024 Collective Agreement Between Southeast Island School

District and the Southeast Island Education Association

By: Curtis Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5: Nav: 0

Resolved: passed

Motion: Approve the elective course description for Community Maintenance I

By:

Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0

Resolved: passed

Motion: Move BP 4218, Classified Personnel - Dismissal/Suspension/ Disciplinary

Action to a second reading.

By: Curtis Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nav: 0

Resolved: passed

Motion: Approve Hollis School Replacement RFP 18, Fire Suppression Changes

By: Curtis Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0

Resolved: passed

Motion: Approve the proposal for the Thorne Bay School sprinkler system from Ketchikan Mechanical, Inc., and the proposal for the Thorne Bay Gym sprinkler system from Ketchikan Mechanical, Inc. One was for \$14,269.59 [school] and the other was for \$39,779.31 [gym].

By: Curtis Second: yes

Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0

Resolved: passed

The Title 1 School-wide Plans for Howard Valentine Coffman Cove, Hollis, Barry Craig Stewart Kasaan, Port Alexander, Thorne Bay, and Whale Pass Schools were included in the School Board packet for School Board and public review. Naukati School's School Improvement Grant information was shared during the May 3, 2023 regular meeting.

The Parent and Family Engagement Policies for Howard Valentine Coffman Cove, Hollis, Barry Craig Stewart Kasaan, Naukati, Port Alexander, Thorne Bay, and Whale Pass Schools were included in the School Board packet for School Board and public review.

PUBLIC COMMENT

Lisa Cates commented regarding the Hollis School Replacement furniture, art, and playground equipment.

BOARD COMMENT

Molly Kimzey thanked Deidre Jenson and Amy McDonald for their contributions to the district and thanked everyone who was working over the summer. Sandy Curtis and William Tyrell expressed appreciation to Deidre Jenson for all of her work. Risa Carlson thanked Deidre Jenson and Amy McDonald for their contributions.

ADJOURNMENT Motion: Adjourn By: Kimzey Second: yes Student Representative Vote: Absent Board Vote: Yea: 5; Nay: 0 Resolved: passed **Time:** 10:01 AM Shannon Silverthorn, Board President Date Date Sandy Curtis, Board Clerk