

MEETING DATE: January 19, 2021

AGENDA ITEM: Consider Approval of 2021 Attendance Zone Committee

PRESENTER: Susan K Bohn, Superintendent

BACKGROUND INFORMATION:

In November 2019, Aledo ISD voters approved the 2019 Bond Program, which includes the construction of one new elementary school (Elementary School #6) and one new middle school (Middle School #2). Elementary School #6 will open in August 2021, and Middle School #2 will open in August 2022.

The addition of the two new schools necessitates that the District's current elementary school attendance zones be redrawn and that middle school attendance zones be drawn for the first time.

The Administration and Board discussed an Attendance Zone Committee (AZC)Process during the November 16, 2020 regular Board meeting and approved the charge and purpose in December:

2021 Attendance Zone Committee Purpose

The purpose of the Attendance Zone Committee is to represent the Aledo ISD community in the study of data related to projected student enrollment growth, campus student capacity, safety, transportation, current and planned transportation infrastructure, and geographic location of planned development in the district, in recommending to the Board of Trustees new attendance zones for elementary and middle schools.

2021 Attendance Zone Committee Charge

The Attendance Zone Committee is charged by the Board of Trustees to:

- -represent the priorities, expectations, and values of the entire community,
- -consider the needs of all of the district's students,
- -listen to and consider questions and feedback from all community members and the Board of Trustees.
- -use facts and data to make informed decisions,

-recommend attendance zones that are projected to most efficiently use building capacity for the longest time period possible (given projected student growth), and -recommend to the Board of Trustees an elementary attendance zone map (effective 2021-2022) and a middle school attendance zone map (effective 2022-2021) for approval by the Board and implementation by the Administration.

During this Board meeting, the Administration recommends that the Board approve the proposed committee members listed below for the AZC so that work can begin to redraw the attendance zones within Aledo ISD.

| Cynthia Llewellyn Co- Chair | Jeff Haddox | Jason Niemela | Katey Thompson |
|--------------------------------|-------------------------|------------------|------------------------|
| Peter Healey Co-Chair | Stacey Hardwick | Laura Pace | Jeff Turner |
| Nancy Bathurst | Khala Hart | Anita Palacios | Whitney Unterwagner |
| Claudia Bracero | Cody Hughes | Justin Parker | Frank Urquidez |
| Brandon Brinkman | Jennifer Lawler | Wessman Peterson | Aaron Valencia |
| Luella Bullock | Cody Lode | Misti Reed | Carrie Woychesin |
| Jennifer Churion | Luis Lopez | Dan Reilley | Mark Younger |
| Michelle Clary | Amanda Martin | Erica Rubino | Deanne Younkin |
| Kelly Dishman | Andrew McCulloch | Lori Saunders | |
| Courtney Edwards | Lauren McMurrey | Joshua Shelman | |
| Lindsey Flowers | Catherine Montenegro | Jeremy Thompson | |

The members of the AZC were chosen through trustee appointment, campus nomination, and citizen application. The administration has created the committee with emphasis on the diversity of committee members demographically and geographically in an effort to represent the community at-large as well as possible. The number of members on the committee is 43.

The Administration anticipates that the work of the committee, resulting in a recommendation to the Board of Trustees, will be completed in March of 2021.

FISCAL INFORMATION:

None

ATTACHMENTS:

None

ADMINISTRATIVE RECOMMENDATION:

The administration recommends that the Board approve the proposed 2021 Attendance Zone Committee members.