DRAFT

Minutes of the August 16, 2010 - Special Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a special work session on Monday, August 16, 2010 at 6:34 p.m. The meeting was called to order by President Cindy Warner.

Members present: Cindy Warner, President; Anthony Hill, Vice President; David Apple, Secretary; Susie Kemp; Scott Orr; Thom Hulme; and Bennett Ratliff. A quorum was present.

Staff present: Dr. Jeff Turner, Superintendent; Sid Grant; Kelly Penny; Melody Paschall; Curriculum Staff; Brad Hunt; Tabitha Branum; Katy Cooper; Deana Harrell; Louis Macias, Merry Dunphy and John Crawford

Notice of this meeting was posted on August 13, 2010 at 4:30 p.m.

At 6:35 p.m., President Warner declared the Board in Closed Session as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 (Personnel Matters).

President Warner declared the Board in Open Session at 6:55 p.m.

Anthony Hill made a motion to canvass the Tax Ratification Election returns at a special meeting to be held on Monday, September 20, 2010 at 7:30 a.m.in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road, Coppell, Texas. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Thom Hulme made a motion to approve Sean Bagley, Assistant Principal at Coppell High School, as the Attendance/Truancy Officer for Coppell ISD. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The Coppell ISD Board of Trustees discussed the following items:

- Facilities Usage Policy
- GPA Committee Update
- Review Changes to Policy EIC (LOCAL) Academic Achievement Class Ranking
- Student Code of Conduct
- Administrative Procedures regarding Student Travel (out-of-state)
- Review Fund Balance Policy
- Personal Day Pay
- Enrollment Update

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to adopt Policy CAA (LOCAL) – Fiscal Management Goals and Objectives, as presented. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Susie Kemp made a motion to adopt the revisions to Policy CFD (LOCAL) – Accounting – Activity Funds, as presented. Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to adopt the Student Code of Conduct for the 2010-2011 school year as presented. Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to employ professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Thom Hulme made a motion to accept all resignations for CISD professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting was adjourned at 11:01 p.m.

Cindy Warner, Board President

David Apple, Secretary