DRAFT

Minutes of the June 21, 2004 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on June 21, 2004 at 6:35 p.m. in the Board Room of the Coppell Independent School District Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President, Kathie Gautille.

Members present: Kathie Gautille, President; Bennett Ratliff, Assistant Secretary; Mike Arthur; Allen Mushinski, Susie Kemp; and Scott Orr. A quorum was present.

Members Absent: Cindy Warner, Vice-President

Staff present: Dr. Jeff N. Turner, Superintendent and Lisa Ganz, Secretary

Notice of this meeting was posted on June 16, 2004 at 2:00 p.m.

At 6:35 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in closed session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, personnel matters, as allowed by Section 551.074.

At 7:35 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in Open Session.

The invocation was given by Mike Arthur.

AWARDS PRESENTED

The following 7 CISD students were recognized as "Grand" or "National" level qualifiers for the Duke University "Talent Identification Program" for the 2003-2004 school year. Duke recognizes state and national level students for recognition. "Grand" recognition requires that 7th grade participants score 650 on the Math and Verbal portions of the SAT or scores of 28, 28, 30, and 27 on the ACT Math, English, Reading, and Science Reasoning, respectively which represents the Top 2% of student talent pool:

From Coppell Middle School East -

- Philip Lee
- Emily Marsh

From Coppell Middle School North -

- Abhishek Mallela
- David Mathai
- James Pagels

From Coppell Middle School West -

- Conan Butterly
- Jinhua Xu

Mrs. Janis Branum of CISD's Gifted and Talented program coordinates the Duke TIP search

Congratulations to three CHS Choral students who were named "Most Outstanding" soloist in this year's U.I.L. State Solo and Ensemble Contest. These students each received a state champion medallion and a letter of commendation from the state:

- Alexander Ross Senior/tenor (will attend Oklahoma as a music major)
- Christina Ambrose Senior/soprano 2 (will attend Stephen F. Austin as music major)
- Alden Yearling Junior/tenor

Ms. Jolene Webster is the CHS Choral Director

This year, the Coppell High School band won a total of 96 solo medals and 4 ensemble medals at the U.I.L. State Solo and Ensemble competition held at the University of Texas in Austin. That number represents twice as many as the next highest school's Band/Choir/Orchestra groups from across the state of Texas. Congratulations to the following students named "Outstanding Soloist":

- Adam Gautille Sophomore/trumpet
- Shaiyan Keshvari Sophomore/trombone (student unable to attend but parent will accept certificate)
- Chris Rhea Sophomore/clarinet

Mr. Scott Mason is the CHS Band Director

At this time, we would like to honor Coppell High School Principal Mr. Jimmy Spann. Mr. Spann was recently named President of the Texas Association of Secondary School Principals for the 2004-2005 school year.

OPEN FORUM

The following citizens addressed the Board of Trustees regarding the Homestead Exemption:

- Doris Choat
- Jack Howe

PRESIDENT REPORT

President, Kathie Gautille welcomed the three new board members to their first business meeting.

Mrs. Gautille reminded the board and the community of the next budget work session to be held on July 1, 2004 at 6:30 p.m.

Mrs. Gautille stated that the school board recently attended the Summer Leadership Institute Conference held in San Antonio this month. Ms. Gautille also stated that new board members are required to have 10 continuing education hours for the first year and 5 hours for the years thereafter. While at Summer Leadership, Mrs. Gautille attended the Board President's Academy. A few of the topics discussed include; in-depth legal procedures and open meetings act to name just a few.

Board Member Committee Assignments

- City Council/CEDC <u>Allen Mushinski</u>
- NTAASB (North Texas Area Association of School Boards Kathie Gautille
- Education Foundation Mike Arthur and Bennett Ratliff
- Red Ribbon Week/Safe and Drug Free Schools **Kathie Gautille**
- Economic and Business Development <u>Allen Mushinski</u>
- Senator Shapiro Scott Orr and Cindy Warner
- Senator Harris Susie Kemp, Scott Orr, and Bennett Ratliff
- Congressman Marchant/Replacement Mike Arthur and Scott Orr
- DEIC (District wide Educational Improvement Council Susie Kemp
- PTO Presidents— <u>Cindy Warner</u>

SCHOOL BOARD MEMBER CAMPUS ADOPTIONS

- Wilson, Lakeside, and CMS-North Mike Arthur
- Valley Ranch, Denton Creek, Austin, and CMS-North Kathie Gautille
- Mockingbird, Cottonwood Creek, CMS-East Susie Kemp
- Cottonwood Creek, Lakeside, and CMS-West Allen Mushinski
- Pinkerton, Valley Ranch, and CMS-West Scott Orr
- Mockingbird, Lee, and CMS-East Bennett Ratliff
- Lee, Town Center, and CMS-North Cindy Warner

SUPERINTENDENT REPORT

Dr. Jeff Turner introduced staff to present the Curriculum Report:

- One (1) year strategic plan update (presenters to cover the various topics include, Sherrye Dotson, Chad Branum, Tabitha Branum, Sid Grant, Janis Branum, Susan Jamieson, Kayla Caraway, Jan Boomer, Tamerah Ringo. (Complete report attached.)
- Summer School Report presented by Sherrye Dotson (Complete report attached.)

CONSENT

Mike Arthur made a request to remove consent agenda item no. 1 – "Approve Policy Update EIAB (Local)." The recommendation was made to remove item number 1. and table to a future board meeting.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to approve items 2, 3, and 4 of the consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve Policy Update EIAB (Local) Removed
- 2. Approve Budget Amendments for 2003-2004
- 3. Approve Financial Report for May 2004
- 4. Approve the Minutes of the May 24, 2004 and June 7, 2004 Meetings

Mike Arthur seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

ACTION

Bennett Ratliff made motion to nominate Mr. Robert Seward for TASB Board of Directors, Position B, representing TASB Region 10. Mike Arthur seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Mike Arthur made a motion to nominate Mrs. Mary Beth King for TASB Board of Directors, Position D, representing TASB Region 10. Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Scott Orr made a motion to adopt a Resolution for the Region 10 457 (b) FICA Alternative Plan and Trust. Allen Mushinski seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

A request was made by the Trustees that agenda item "D" – "A dditional Seating at the Coppell High School Football Stadium" be tabled for discussion and possible adoption at a future board meeting.

Mike Arthur made a motion to approve proposed dates for early release for the 2004-05 school year as presented. Bennett Ratliff seconded the motion. The motion carried 5-1 (Kemp against).

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to approve adjustment to 0% to the Homestead Exemption effective for this budget cycle 2004-2005. Mike Arthur seconded the motion. The motion carried 5-1 (Orr against).

At 10:11 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in closed session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, personnel matters, as allowed by Section 551.074.

At 10:20 p.m. President Gautille declared the Board in Open Session.

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to accept resignations for CISD professional personnel as per list presented. Mike Arthur seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Susie Kemp made a motion to accept new hires for CISD professional personnel as per list. Scott Orr seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Mike Arthur made a motion to approve performance objectives by Superintendent. Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

The meeting adjourned at 10:43 p.m	
	Kathie Gautille, Board President
	Lisa Ganz, Secretary