AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 5:30 P.M., February 28, 2017, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present:Absent:Ray Beaty, D.C.Teri ErvinDr. Steve BrownCarol Gregg

Nelson Minyard Dr. Donna Smith Doyle Woodall

School Officials: Tom Crowe, Mike Adkins, David Finley, Roy Garcia, Keith Garinger,

Carolyn Gonzalez, David Harwell, Brian Moersch

Others: Mike Atkins, Javier Ruiz, Brandy Ferrer, Ellen Dunn Sablan, Olga

Garza, Angela Holland, Shari Story, Hortencia Del Bosque, Lindsey Lee, Lea Anderegg, Ann McClarty, Joshua Kendrick, Marlane Burns,

Jeff Woltz, Heather Potts, Katherine Ybarra, Mary Franco

<u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Dr. Steve Brown, Board Vice-President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 5:30 p.m.

Public Hearing to Consider Whether the District Should Develop a Local Innovation Plan for the Designation of the District as a District of Innovation: Board Vice-President Dr. Steve Brown opened the floor to Public comment to consider whether the District should develop a Local Innovation Plan for the Designation of the District as a District of Innovation.

Two people requested to address the Board. Blackshear Elementary Music Teacher Shari Story and Bowie Middle School 7th Grade Reading Teacher Christopher Bartlett, both made positive comments and expressed their gratitude to the Board of Trustees for previously listening to their concerns in regards to the Designation of the District as a District of Innovation.

No action required.

Request for Approval to Either Decline to Pursue the Designation of the District as a District of Innovation or Appoint a Committee to Develop a Local Innovation Plan in Accordance with Section 12A.003 of the Texas Education Code: Moved by Minyard, seconded by Woodall to Approve Request to Appoint a Committee to Develop a Local Innovation Plan in Accordance with Section 12A.003 of the Texas Education Code as presented.

The committee will be made up of 17 individuals; 6 Teachers, 5 Parents, 4 Administrators, and 2 Education Foundation Representatives.

Teacher Members: Shari Story, Christopher Bartlett, Angela Holland, Olga Garza, Lindsey Lee, and Misty Hiner

Parent Members: Rhonda Mitchell, Juan Mendoza, Dawn McCrary, Priscilla Aguila, and Jessica Orosco

Administrator Members: Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum & Instruction Carolyn Gonzalez, Assistant Superintendent of Secondary Education Roy Garcia, Director of Elementary Education Ann McClarty, and PHS Principal James Ramage

Education Foundation Members: Education Foundation Director Celeste Potter and President-Elect Jeff Woltz

Request for Approval to Delegate Authority to Superintendent to Notify the Commissioner of Education of the Board's Intent to Vote on Adoption of the Proposed Plan on April 11, 2017: Moved by Woodall, seconded by Minyard to Approve Request to Delegate Authority to Superintendent to Notify the Commissioner of Education of the Board's Intent to Vote on Adoption of the Proposed Plan on April 11, 2017 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Adjournment</u>: Dr. Steve Brown, Board Vice-President, adjourned the Board meeting at 5:421 p.m.

Board Vice-President	Board Secretary
Dr. Steve Brown	Ray Beaty, D.C