MINUTES OF A SPECIAL BOARD MEETING OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION SCHOOL DISTRICT 152, COOK COUNTY, ILLINOIS MONDAY, JUNE 25, 2018 AT THE ADMINISTRATIVE CENTER – 16001 LINCOLN AVENUE HARVEY, ILLINOIS, AT 5:04 P.M.

The Special Board Meeting of the Board of Education was called to order by the President, Janet Rogers, at 5:04 p.m. On Monday, June 25, 2018.

CALL TO ORDER

ROLL CALL

AGENDA

APPROVED

The following were present:

PRESENT: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Nesbit,

Mr. Rogers, Ms. Rogers.

ABSENT: Ms. Gardner, Ms. F. Johnson,

Ms. Hawkins.

Other School Officials in attendance were:

PRESENT: Dr. Lela Bridges-Webb

Dr. Margaret Longo

Interim Superintendent of Schools

Dr. Matthew Wilkinson Business Manager/CSBO Dr. Quintella Bounds

Director Teaching and Learning

Dana Nichols

Director of Teaching and Learning

ABSENT: None.

Everyone stood for the Pledge of Allegiance. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

A motion was made by Ms. G. Johnson and seconded by Mr. Rogers to approve the

the Agenda. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Nesbit,

Mr. Rogers, Ms. Rogers.

NAY: None

ABSENT: Ms. Gardner, Ms. F. Johnson,

Ms. Hawkins.

4 ayes, 3 absent – Motion carried.

Board President's Introductory Comments:

President Rogers welcomed everyone out to the Special Board of Education Meeting.

GO INTO EXECUTIVE SESSION APPROVED

A motion was made by Ms. Nesbit and seconded by Ms. Hawkins to go into Al executive session at 5:07 P.M. to discuss appointment, employment, compensation, discipline, collective bargaining agreement, performance or dismissal of specific employee(s) of the public body or legal counsel for the public body, including hearing testimony on a complaint lodged against an employee of the public to determine its validity. 5ILCS 120/2 (c) (1). Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Nesbit,

Mr. Rogers, Ms. Rogers.

NAY: None

ABSENT: Ms. Gardner, Ms. F. Johnson,

Ms. Hawkins

4 ayes, 3 absent - Motion carried.

Board Member Myra Gardner entered the Executive Session

BOARD MEMBER ENTERED

A motion was made by Ms. Hawkins and seconded by Ms. Gardner to return from executive Session at 7:25 P.M. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Nesbit

Ms. Gardner, Mr. Rogers,

Ms. Rogers.

NAY: None

ABSENT: Ms. Hawkins, Ms. F. Johnson.

5 ayes, 2 absent - Motion carried.

RETURN FROM EXECUTIVE SESSION APPROVED

A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. Gardner to approve the Superintendent Contract for John F. Thomas as discussed in Executive Session. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Gardner,

Mr. Rogers, Ms. Rogers.

NAY: Ms. Nesbit.

ABSENT: Ms. Hawkins, Ms. F. Johnson. 4 ayes, 1 nay, 2 absent – Motion carried.

SUPERINTENDENT CONTRACT APPROVED

A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. Gardner to approve Contract extension for Dr. Lela Bridges-Webb and Dr. Margaret Longo until the New Superintendent starts. Roll Call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Mr. Rogers, Ms. Nesbit, Ms. Rogers.

NAY: None

ABSENT: Ms. Hawkins, Ms. F. Johnson.

5 ayes, 2 absent - Motion carried.

ADMINISTRATOR(s) CONTRACT APPROVED

ADMINISTRATOR(s) CONTRACT

EXTENISON

APPROVED

A motion was made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. Nesbit to approve Administrator Contracts for the following: Dana Nichols – Director of Teaching and Learning and Dr. Matthew Wilkinson – Business Manager. Roll Call vote.

AYE: Ms. Nesbit, Mr. Rogers,

Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Rogers.

NAY: None

ABSENT: Ms. Hawkins, Ms. F. Johnson.

5 ayes, 2 absent - Motion carried.

A motion was made by Ms. Gardner and seconded by Mr. Rogers to approve the the appointment of Jackie Young – Gwendolyn Brooks Middle School Night Custodian. Roll call vote.

AYE: Mr. Rogers, Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Nesbit, Ms. Rogers.

NAY: None

ABSENT: Ms. Hawkins, Ms. F. Johnson.

5 ayes, 2 absent - Motion carried.

A motion was by made by Mr. Rogers and seconded by Ms. Nesbit to approve the appointment of Jillian Davis, Riley Pre-K Principal. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. Nesbit, Mr. Rogers,

Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Rogers.

NAY: None

ABSENT: Ms. Hawkins, Ms. F. Johnson.

5 ayes, 2 absent - Motion carried.

APPOINTMENT(s)
APPROVED

A motion was made by Ms. Nesbit and seconded by Ms. G. Johnson to approve the Reassignment of Dr. Clifton Hunt to a Music teaching position at. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. Nesbit, Ms. G. Johnson. ABSTAIN: Mr. Rogers, Ms. Gardner.

NAY: Ms. Rogers.

ABSENT: Ms. F. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins.

2 ayes, 2 abstain, 1 nay, 2 absent - Motion carried.

A motion was made by Ms. Nesbit and seconded by Ms. G. Johnson to approve the 2017-2020 HEA Collective Bargaining Agreement with the necessary corrections. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. G. Johnson, Ms. Gardner,

Ms. Nesbit, Ms. Rogers.

NAY: Mr. Rogers.

ABSENT: Ms. Hawkins, Ms. Gardner. 4 ayes, 2 absent – Motion carried.

A motion was made by Ms. G. Johnson and Seconded by Ms. Casey Nesbit to approve the Title I Plan as presented. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. Nesbit, Ms. G. Johnson, Mr. Rogers, Ms. Gardner,

Ms. Rogers.

NAY: None

ABSENT: Ms. F. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins

5 ayes, 2 absent - Motion carried.

A motion was made by Ms. G. Johnson and seconded by Ms. G. Johnson to approve the Notice To Remedy for Ms. Cara Aljoe – Bryant Elementary School Teacher. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. Gardner, Mr. Rogers,

Ms. Nesbit, Ms. G. Johnson,

Ms. Rogers.

NAY: None

ABSENT: Ms. F. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins.

5 ayes, 2 absent - Motion carried.

REASSIGNMENT APPROVED

HEA COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT APPROVED

TITLE I PLAN APPROVED

NOTICE TO REMEDY APPROVED

A motion was made by Ms. Nesbit and seconded by Mr. Rogers to approve the following College Students: Tiesha Gardner; ShaQueen Lee; Tre'Von Morgan; Ambria Hughes; Myrik Hill; Tatyana Morris; Abrielle Matthews and Arielle Charles. Roll call vote: AYE: Ms. Gardner, Ms. G. Johnson,

COLLEGE STUDENTS APPROVED

NAY: None.

ABSENT: Ms. F. Johnson, Ms. Hawkins.

Ms. Nesbit, Ms. Rogers.

5 ayes, 2 absent - Motion carried.

President Rogers stated the next scheduled Board Meeting will be held on Monday, August 20, 2018 at the Administration Center at 6:00 p.m.

REGULAR BOARD MEETING AUGUST 20, 2018

A motion was made by Ms. G. Johnson and seconded by Ms. Hawkins to adjourn at 7:38 P.M. Roll call vote.

AYE: Ms. Gardner, Ms. G. Johnson

Mr. Rogers, Ms. Nesbit,

Ms. Rogers.

NAY: None

ABSENT: Ms. Hawkins, Ms. F. Johnson.

5 ayes, 2 absent - Motion carried.

ADJOURNMENT

| Respectfully submitted, | |
|-------------------------|--|
| Secretary | |
| | |

Approved President