AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 p.m., August 17, 2010, with the following members:

Present:

Absent:

Fay Batch Ray Beaty, DC Luis Galvan Dr. Donnie Norwood Tom Pace Dr. Donna C. Smith Yollie Wilkins

- School Officials: Hector Mendez, Shawn Bell, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Leon Fuller, Wendy Hines, Karen Kopec, Brian Moersch, Dr. H.T. Sanchez, Randy Talley, Tonya Tillman
- Others: Rev. Donita Lea, Chuck Isner, Mauricio Marquez, Marcos Lopez, Andrea Martin, Yolanda Hernandez, Lety Amala, Sandra Banda, Amanda Warber, Sylvia Sanchez, Evelyn Garcia, Wayne Squires, Tracy Taylor, Carolyn Gonzales, Pam Walker, Marilee Holmes, Jan Brown, Staci Ashley, Alicia Syverson, Anita Casiallas, Cindy Harbour, Ysenia Sandoval, Monica Sarabia, James Ramage, Denise Shetter, Shelia Stevenson, Ysmael Lujan, Maricio Marquez, Tony Parris, Sgt. Pete Frankson, Diana Wray, Mayra Leyva, Chuck Isner, Michael Adkins, Mike Barker, Al Harris, Dianna Wray, Mike Atkins, Mary Franco, Nelda Loya
- **<u>21057</u>** <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Tom Pace, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order.
- **<u>21058</u>** Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Gale Pond/Alamo Students, Jennifer Garcia and Tristan Weeks.
- **<u>21059</u>** Invocation: Invocation was led by Rev. Donita Lea, Highland Methodist Church.

21060 Special Presentations:

TEA Accountability Ratings Recognition – The following TEA Exemplary and Recognized Campuses were presented awards for their exemplary and recognized accountability ratings:

EXEMPLARY CAMPUSES

Blackshear Elementary –

Former Principal Mauricio Marquez and current Principal Marcos Lopez

Reagan Elementary – Principal Andrea Martin (fifteenth consecutive Exemplary rating)

Ross Elementary – Former Principal Yolanda Hernandez and current Principal Lety Amalla

Sam Houston Elementary – Former Principal Marcos Lopez and current Principal Sandra Banda

RECOGNIZED CAMPUSES

Gale Pond Alamo Elementary – Principal Amanda Warber

Austin Elementary – Principal Sylvia Sanchez

Blanton Elementary – Principal Evelyn Garcia

Cavazos Elementary – Principal Wayne Squiers

Gonzales Elementary – Principal Tracy Taylor

Hays Elementary – Principal Carolyn Gonzalez

Ireland Elementary – Principal Pam Walker

LBJ Elementary – Principal Marilee Holmes

Jordan Elementary – Principal Jan Brown

Milam Elementary – Principal Staci Ashley **Noel Elementary** – Principal Alicia Syverson

Pease Elementary – Principal Annette Macias

San Jacinto Elementary – Principal Cindy Harbour

Zavala Elementary – Former Principal Yesenia Sandoval and current Principal Monica Sarabia

Bonham Junior High – Principal James Ramage

Bowie Junior High – Former Principal Denise Shetter and current principal Shelia Stevenson

Crockett Junior High – Former Principal Ysmael Lujan and current principal Mauricio Marquez

Ector Junior High – Principal Tony Parris

- **<u>21061</u>** Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Tom Pace, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **<u>21062</u>** Request for Approval of Consent Agenda: Moved by Smith, seconded by Batch to approve Consent Agenda as presented.

For: Batch Galvan Norwood Pace Smith Wilkins Abstain: Beaty

Motion carried.

21063 <u>Request for Approval of Budget Amendment #8</u>: Moved by Smith, seconded by Norwood to approve Budget Amendment #8 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

21064 Request for Approval of Appointment/Reappointment of Tri-Ethnic Committee Members: The Board voted by ballot to appoint/re-appoint the following Tri-Ethnic Committee members to serve a two year term (September 2010 – August 2012):

> Anglo – Lettie England Johnny Carter

Hispanic -

Mariann Bagley Erika Chavez Andrea Quiroz

- **<u>21065</u>** <u>Presentation of District Accountability Data</u>: Wendy Hines, Assistant Superintendent for Elementary Operations, presented the District's Accountability Data.</u>
- 21066 Discussion of Board Policy FDB(Local) Admissions: Intradistrict Transfers and Classroom Assignments [First Reading]: Interim Assistant Superintendent for Human Resources Brian Moersch, presented for first reading, Board Policy FDB(Local) Admissions: Intradistrict Transfers and Classroom Assignments.
- 21067 Request for Approval of Board Policies DEC(LOCAL) Compensation and Benefits: Leaves and Absences and EIA(LOCAL) Academic Achievement: Grading/Progress Reports to Parents: Moved by Norwood, seconded by Batch to approve Board Policies DEC(LOCAL) Compensation and Benefits: Leaves and Absences and EIA(LOCAL) Academic Achievement: Grading/Progress Reports to Parents as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

21068 Request for Approval to Accept Invitation from Center for Reform of School Systems (CRSS) to Participate in the Reform Governance in Action: Moved by Norwood, seconded by Smith to accept invitation from Center for Reform of School Systems (CRSS) to participate in the Reform Governance in Action.

Motion unanimously approved.

- 21069 Request for Approval of Closed Meeting Personnel Matter Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: No Executive Session was held.
- **<u>21070</u>** Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report: Moved by Smith, seconded by Batch to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>21071</u> <u>Adjournment</u>: Tom Pace, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 7:16 p.m.

Board President Tom Pace **Board Secretary** *Dr. Donnie Norwood*