DRAFT

Minutes of the November 7, 2022 - Special School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a special session on November 7, 2022, at 8:03 a.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building. The meeting was called to order by President David Caviness.

Members present: David Caviness, President; Anthony Hill, Vice President; Nichole Bentley, Secretary; Manish Sethi; Leigh Walker and Dr. Neena Biswas (left at 8:23 a.m.)

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on November 3, 2022, at 3:30 p.m.

Staff present: Carol Snowden, Administrative Assistant

No one from the community requested to speak in Open Forum.

Prior to going into Closed Session, President Caviness called into record the applicants being considered for the Place 7 vacancy as part of the discussion and consideration in Closed Session. The names of the candidates are alphabetically as follows:

Kevin Chaka

Kenny Conoley

Jason Jones

Jaclyn Kincade

Christopher Todd Lancaster

Paula Lewis

Timothy Marguart

Jobby Mathew

Whitney Munro

Samit Patel

Becky Rainbolt

Maria Strehlow

Ashley Wallace

Julie Waters

At 8:03 a.m., President Caviness declared the Board in Closed Session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters

President Caviness declared the Board in Open Session at 10:17 a.m.

Anthony Hill motioned to approve the employment of professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Leigh Walker seconded the motion and the motion passed 5-0.

A motion to leave the Board of Trustees Place 7 vacant was made by Nichole Bentley. The motion was seconded by Anthony Hill. The motion failed 3-2. Trustees Leigh Walker, David Caviness and Manish Sethi voted in opposition to the motion.

A motion was made by Manish Sethi and seconded by David Caviness to appoint applicant Jobby Mathew to fill the vacancy of the Place 7 Board Member. The motion carried 5-0.

DRAFT

| A motion was made by Nichole B meeting. The motion carried 5-0. | entley and seconded by Manish Sethi to adjourn the |
|-----------------------------------------------------------------|----------------------------------------------------|
| The meeting adjourned at 10:28 a. | m. |
| Ī | David Caviness, Board President |
| <u>-</u> | Nichole Bentley, Secretary |