1042

Regular Board Meeting Minutes January 8, 2018

The regular board meeting was called to order by President Joanna Horton at 7:00 pm.

Board members present:	Joanna Horton, Jeremy Hatcher, Melissa Schick, Joy Williams, Brian Fraser, Nancy Duggan, Chris Taliaferro
Board members absent:	None
Administrators attending:	James Sanders, Chad Collins, Cindy Wiedemann, Gail Crow, Jeff Cleveland, Kandy Shirey, Grant Miller, Christian Reed

Guest: Schneider Electric, Derrick Honea, RBC

The Staff honored the Board of Trustees thanking them for their service to the district.

Rene Cherry and Jimmy Weaver spoke in Open Forum.

Representatives from Schneider Electric discussed the district projects and presented the board with hard hats.

Duggan made a motion to approve the consent agenda items with the minutes corrected to read regarding changing CCG (Local) to For – Duggan, Hatcher, Against – Taliaferro, Williams, Fraser, Abstaining - Schick . Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Derrick Honea, RBC discussed the District Maintenance Tax Note Resolution with the board.

Duggan made a motion to approve all matters incident and related to the issuance and sale of "Scurry-Rosser Independent School District Maintenance Tax Notes 2018, Series", including the adoption of a resolution, authorizing the issuance of such tax notes with a fixed interest rate of 3.592. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried. 4 For – Horton, Hatcher, Williams, Duggan, 2 Against – Fraser, Taliaferro, 1 Abstained - Schick

Hatcher made a motion to approve Board Policy CCG (Local), Local Revenue Sources – Ad Valorem Taxes. Duggan seconded the motion. Motion carried. (4 For – Duggan, Horton, Hatcher, Schick, 2 Against – Fraser, Taliaferro, 1 abstained – Williams)

Taliaferro made a motion to change Board Policy CH (Local) – Purchasing and Acquisition to \$10,000 spending limit without board approval. Fraser seconded the motion. Motion carried. 4 For – Taliaferro, Fraser, Schick, Williams, 3 Against – Horton, Hatcher, Duggan

Hatcher made a motion to set May 5, 2018 as the Board of Trustee Election Day. Schick seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Hatcher made a motion to approve the Texas Academic Performance Report (TAPR). Williams seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Cindy Wiedemann, chief financial officer, and James Sanders, superintendent, discussed the information items with the board.

The board was called into executive session on January 8, 2018 by President Joanna Horton according to Section 551.074 of the Texas Open Meeting Act at 8:30 pm to discuss personnel: superintendent's evaluation and contract.

The board returned to open session at 9:43 pm.

President Joanna Horton reviewed James Sanders, superintendent's evaluation in open session.

Hatcher made a motion to extend James Sanders' superintendent contract by an additional year, June 30, 2021. Williams seconded the motion. Motion carried. 5 For – Horton, Hatcher, Schick, Duggan, Williams, 2 Against – Fraser, Taliaferro

Adjourned – 9:45 pm.

Joanna Horton, Board President

Melissa Schick, Board Secretary