AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:00 P.M., February 23, 2016, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present:

Absent:

Ray Beaty, D.C. Dr. Steve Brown Teri Ervin Carol Gregg Nelson Minyard Dr. Donna C. Smith Doyle Woodall

- School Officials: Tom Crowe, David Finley, Roy Garcia, Keith Garinger, Carolyn Gonzalez, David Harwell, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Kellie Wilks
- Others: Mike Atkins, Linda Voss, Seneca Mick, Brandon Bailey, Carla Byrne, Janet Flippin, Donna Ziriax, Emily Schnider, Tracy Taylor, Nancy Vanley, Julia Willett, Lisa Wills, Linda Mick, Brandy Ferrer, Heather Potts, Elaine Smith, Ann McClarty, Derrick Conway, Cynthia McNabb, Elaine Sparks, Mary Franco
- **<u>23264</u>** Meeting Called to Order: Nelson Minyard, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:00 p.m.
- **23265** Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Jordan Elementary School Students Logan Donham, Jose Molina and Kaitlyn Rubio
- **<u>23266</u>** Invocation: Invocation was led by Reverend Todd Starnes, First Assembly of God.

23267 Special Presentations:

Cenergistic Energy Excellence Award: Energy Specialists Tony Parris and Patrick Young along with Cenergistic Representatives David Goff and Mark Hixon presented the Cenergistic Energy Excellence Award. The District has saved 5,310 million dollars through the energy conservation efforts.

PTA Reflections Contest Participants: Superintendent Tom Crowe along with PTA Reflections Contest Chair Holly Fletcher introduced the following PTA Reflections Winners:

Primary

- 1st Tie between Hudson Fletcher & Ashton Liming
- 2nd Mateo Gil
- 3rd Brianna Beane (Absent)
- 4th Honorable Mention Ashlyn Beane (Absent)
- 5th Honorable Mention Presley Christopher
- 6th Honorable Mention Cole Fletcher

Intermediate

1st Sofia Gil
2nd Brookelyn Bland
3rd Honorable Mention Jose Soteldo

Recognition of All-State Musicians: Director of Fine Arts Mark Lyon introduced Choir Directors from OHS and PHS who recognized and introduce their respective TMEA All-State Musicians.

<u>Odessa High</u>

Aaron Hunt – 1st Chair Mixed Choir Joshua Lujan – 8th Chair Mixed Choir

Permian High

Seneca Mick – 2nd Chair Mixed Choir (3rd straight year) Isaac Torres – 7th Chair Men's Choir (2nd year in a row) Grantham Wash – 5th Chair Men's Choir

Recognition of All-State & Academic All-State Football Players: Permian High School Head Football Coach Blake Feldt recognized the All-State and Academic All-State Football Players.

Associated Press 6A All-State Team

Brandon Bailey – 1st Team Running Back (1,625 yards rushing & 23 TD's) Josh Nguyen – Honorable Mention Linebacker Des Smith – Honorable Mention Cornerback Jax Welch – Honorable Mention Safety

Texas HS Coaches Association Academic All-State Team

Andrew Blackstone – 1st Team Jack Fawcett – 1st Team Trace Notley – 1st Team Dakota Delao – Honorable Mention Chance Holder – Honorable Mention Jax Welch – Honorable Mention

World Class Leader in Education: Superintendent Tom Crowe introduced Career and Technical Education Health Science Teacher Shana Elguezabal as the February World Class Leader in Education.

23268 Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Nelson Minyard, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

23269 Presentation: Viverea Wellness Program Presentation: Viverea representative Emily Schneider provided Trustees with an overview of the Viverea Wellness program. Beginning March 1, 2016 this program will be offered through the District's Benefits Department to District employees and their spouses who are covered through our insurance. This online portal will provide a variety of health tools such as physical activity trackers, information on nutrition and educational resources.

No action required.

23270 Request for Approval of 2016-2017 Traditional Calendar: Moved by Brown, seconded by Ervin to approve the 2016-2017 Traditional Calendar as presented.

A total of 733 votes were cast, 556 (76%) for updated calendar Option I and 177 (24%) for new Option II.

Motion unanimously approved.

- **<u>23271</u>** Request for Approval of Consent Agenda: Moved by Ervin, seconded by Brown to approve Consent Agenda as presented.
 - Request for Approval of Minutes of Meetings: January 12, 2016 – Board Work Study Meeting January 19, 2016 – Regular Board Meeting
 - 2. Request for Approval of Bills for Payment
 - 3. School Construction Report
 - 4. Request for Approval of Purchases Over \$50,000
 - 5. Request for Approval to Change June 2016 Work Study & Regular Board Meeting Dates
 - 6. Request for Approval of 2016-2017 Dual Credit Matrix
 - 7. Request for Approval of Quarterly Investment Report
 - 8. Request for Approval of 2015-2016 PDAS Appraisers
 - 9. Request for Approval of 2016-2017 T-TESS Appraisers
 - 10. Request for Approval of Final Phase of the New Wastewater Improvement Project
 - 11. Request for Approval of Board Policy DC (Local) Employment Practices
 - 12. Request for Approval of Budget Amendment #4

Motion unanimously approved.

23272 Request for Approval of Closed Meeting - Personnel Matters - Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Routine Personnel Report and Discussion of Superintendent's Appraisal) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: Board President Nelson Minyard convened the Board of Trustees to closed session at 7:04 p.m.

Board President Nelson Minyard reconvened the Board of Trustees to open session at 8:29 p.m.

<u>23273</u> Adjournment: Moved by Ervin, seconded by Woodall to adjourn meeting.

Nelson Minyard, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 8:30 p.m.

Board President Nelson Minyard Board Secretary
Doyle Woodall