

MEETING DATE: October 15, 2018

**AGENDA ITEM:** Consider Approval of District of Innovation Committee

**PRESENTER:** Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent and Amber Crissey,

Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum & Instruction

## **ALIGNS TO BOARD GOAL(S):**

ΑII

## **Background Information:**

As was discussed at the September 17, 2018 board meeting and during the presentation earlier in this meeting while reviewing the request for the board to adopt the District of Innovation Resolution, our next step in this process is for the board to approve a DOI committee.

State law, at Texas Education Code Chapter 12A, prescribes the process that a school district must use to pursue DOI status. This process includes approval of a resolution and appointment of a DOI committee by the Board of Trustees, a public hearing, the website posting of the draft DOI plan for 30 days prior to approval by the Board, and notice to the Texas Commissioner of Education. In addition, the adoption of a DOI plan by the Board necessitates some revisions to Board policies.

#### **Administrative Considerations:**

All information about the Aledo ISD DOI process will be available to the community on a DOI webpage on the district's website. In addition, once the draft DOI plan is developed by the committee, it will be posted on the webpage and all feedback from the community will be reviewed by the committee and shared with the Board of Trustees prior to the committee's recommendation of a final plan to the Board.

FISCAL NOTE: None

#### **Administrative Recommendation:**

Administration recommends appointment of the District Of Innovation committee as presented.

#### **District of Innovation Committee**

The district is utilizing the District Wide Effectiveness Improvement Committee (DWEIC) members along with additional non-DWEIC committee members to develop the draft DOI plan. DWEIC members are noted with an \*.

### Teachers:

Kris Grgurich, AHS\* Gena Berry, AHS\* Jamie Rinehart, AHS\* Gayla Fernandez, ALC\* Rachel Black, D9GC,\* Kimberly Cox, D9GC\* Alicia Albin, AMS\* Paula Boldt, AMS\* Leslie Leech, McAnally\* Rebecca Buchanan, McAnally\* Mandy Lindsay, Vandagriff\* Stephanie Smith, Vandagriff\* Ashley Davis, Coder\* Ashleigh Estes, Coder\* Rebekah Getz, Stuard\* Maggie Lozano, Stuard\* Samantha Buckles, McCall\* Carol Rodgers, McCall\* Heather Holt, Walsh\* Melanie Atkins, Walsh\*

# **Administrators:**

Ron Shelton\*
Mandy Musselwhite\*
Rebecca Faulkner
Angi Tims
Sheri Coll
Sherry Taylor
Mary Smith

## Parents/Community:

Cindy Fergus\*
Chrystal Bissett\*
Jennifer Taylor\*
Randy Keck\*
Janet and Chris Coble\*
Marvin Herring
Shawn Callaway\*
Mindy Flowers\*

The committee is facilitated by Amber Crissey and Lynn McKinney.