## Denton Independent School District Board of Trustees Certificates of Recognition Tuesday, Feb. 12, 2008

## HAWKEYE READING CONTEST WINNERS

The late Mildred McCauley Hawk was an extremely well-known Denton resident and literacy advocate, whose mission was to help others - especially young people. In fact, her mission statement was "We're here to help others." One of her great joys was helping elementary students with their reading skills.

During the 1999-2000 school year, she established the Hawkeye Reading Contest for third-grade students. It greatly helped the Denton ISD Keys to Literacy program.

Prior to her death in 2004, Mrs. Hawk donated \$50,000 to the Denton Public School Foundation to provide adequate funds to make this important literacy program an annual event.

The third-grade students with the most **Accelerated Reader** or **Reading Counts** points during the established dates placed in the contest. Each winning student is given the following monetary award:

- 1st place award of \$25 and a 1st place ribbon
  2nd place award of \$15 and a 2nd place ribbon
  3rd place award of \$10 and a 3rd place ribbon
- The winners of the contest are:

Borman	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Natalie Bennett Aaron Householder Da'Mani Fairweather
Evers	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Emma Shaw Samantha Turner Brandon Dillon
Ginnings	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Makayla Beadle Kalei Forest Ivon Diaz
Hawk	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Jack Henderson Patrick Dahlke Jaede Del Rosario Vinales
Hodge	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Erin Moore Aaron Bates Rachel Warfield
Houston	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Gracelyn Hundley Ashley Emory Tony Gao
Lee	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Logan McDaniel Sarai Quiroz Priscila Maldonado

McNair	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Max Scalf Madeline Bradley Emily Reed
L. A. Nelson	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Ethan Hedges Emily Hunt Lydia Ososanya
E. P. Rayzor	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Morgan Wessling Isaac Rowe Chloe Stally-Gibson
Newton Rayzor	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Melissa Havens Erick Perez Maribel Sanchez
Paloma Creek	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Camryn Marsh Madeleine Campbell Courtney Lawson
Pecan Creek	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Hendrik Henderson Eshan Sayani Aaron Jackson
Providence	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Sydney Finch Jayden Gentry Daisha Oruru
Rivera	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Douglas Newcomer Elondra Meleren Oscar Lopez
Savannah	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Austin Van Deusen Liam Samsel Braden Arnold
W. S. Ryan	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	Alex Goff Abner Orozco Allison Livingston
Wilson	1 <sup>st</sup> 2 <sup>nd</sup> 3 <sup>rd</sup>	James Feltner III Matthew Watson Heath Lindsay

These school winners participated in the district-wide contest. The Hawkeye Reader winners for the Denton Independent School District will be announced at the meeting. The district winners will receive: First place: \$125 Second place: \$75

Third place: \$50

Tanya McGlothlin, coordinator of elementary language arts for third through fifth grade, and other members of the curriculum staff will make the presentations.