AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 6:30 P.M., June 16, 2015, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

Present: Absent:

Ray Beaty, D.C. Dr. Steve Brown Teri Ervin Carol Gregg Nelson Minyard Dr. Donna C. Smith Doyle Woodall

School Officials: Tom Crowe, Mike Adkins, David Harwell, David Finley, Roy Garcia,

Keith Garinger, Carolyn Gonzalez, Brian Moersch, Todd Vesley,

Kellie Wilks

Others: Daniel Loudenback, Mary Neff, David Boutin, Leslie Vashler,

Evelyn Garcia, Jeff Woltz, Sondra Eoff, Omega Loera, Carla Byrne, Elizabeth Grado, Kendra Herrera, Jacob Bargas, Debbie Aguero, Adolfo Muniz, Diana Perkins, Louis Gonzales, Mike Atkins, Nancy

Herrera, Cynthia McNabb, Mary Franco

<u>22990</u> Meeting Called to Order: Dr. Steve Brown, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 6:30 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags: The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Camp SIP Students Peter Gonzalez, Austin Elementary 2nd Grader Riley "Bobby" Schenkel, Reagan Elementary 3rd Grader

22992 Invocation: Invocation was led by Reverend Clydel Chapman, Northside Baptist Church

22993 Special Presentations:

Education Foundation Grant Give-Away Recognition: Education Foundation Coordinator Celeste Potter and Education Foundation members presented Trustees with the Spring 2015 Grant Recipients. The Education Foundation awarded \$156,074.63 in classroom grants.

Recognition of AAFT Foreign Language Poster Contest Winners: Cameron Elementary students were recognized for receiving National Recognition for placing in a National Foreign Language Poster Contest.

1st Place: Elena Montoya 2nd Place: Javier Rodriguez **Recognition of State Qualifiers in Track & Gymnastics**: The following students were recognized as State Qualifiers in their area of competition:

OHS Boys Gymnastics – Coach Tony Gonzalez
Sophomore Clayton King – Floor Exercise & Vault
Junior Oscar Lozoya – Vault
Junior Lalo Tejeras – All Round

PHS Girls Gymnastics – Coach Brandi Pettus
Entire Team of 13 Qualified (three students present)
Sophomore Caitlynn Cordle
Junior Taylor James
Senior Casey Werner

OHS Track – Coach Christopher Hardin:

Senior Dwayne Amoyaw – High Jump (Qualified at Regional with a 6'8")

Introduction of 2014-15 Employees of the Year: The following District employees were recognized as the 2014-15 Employees of the Year:

- Administrator Katy Taylor, Director of School Nutrition
- Classified Margarita Brooker, Office Clerk, Burnet Elementary
- Counselor Patricia Forester, Pease Elementary
- Custodian L.C. Ward, Alternative Center
- Elementary Teacher Amy Richter, Austin Montessori Elementary
- Maintenance John Crawford, Maintenance
- Nurse Kendra Golden, Burnet Elementary
- School Nutrition Joyce Taylor, Cafeteria Manager, Burnet Elementary
- Secondary Teacher Cheryl Cunningham, CTE at NTO
- Transportation Gaylin Sutphen, Driver
- **Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:** Dr. Steve Brown, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **<u>Request for Approval of Reconstitution Plans</u>**: Moved by Woodall, seconded by Ervin to approve Reconstitution Plans as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

22996 Request for Approval of Board Policy CLC (Local) Buildings, Grounds, and Equipment Management: Traffic and Parking Controls: Moved by Smith, seconded by Ervin to approve Board Policy CLC(Local) Buildings, Grounds, and equipment as presented.

For: Against: Abstained: Beaty Gregg

Brown Ervin Minyard Smith Woodall

Motion passed.

<u>Request for Approval of 2015-16 District Continuous Improvement Plan:</u>
Moved by Ervin, seconded by Woodall to approve the 2015-16 District

Continuous Improvement Plan as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>22998</u> Request for Approval of Optional Homestead Exemption Resolution: Moved by Minyard, seconded by Ervin to approve Optional Homestead

Exemption Resolution as presented. Trustees voted to keep the 20% tax exemption for Ector County tax payers.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Board Policy CAA (Local) Fiscal Management
Goals and Objectives: Financial Ethics: Moved by Minyard, seconded by
Ervin to approve Board Policy CAA (Local) Fiscal Management Goals and
Objectives: Financial Ethics as presented.

This policy has been updated to include language allowing for an internal ethics hotline for employees to anonymously report possible ethics issues.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>23000</u> Request for Approval of Consent Agenda: Moved by Ervin, seconded by Woodall to approve Consent Agenda as presented.

1. Request for Approval of Minutes of Meetings:

June 3, 2015 – Special Board Meeting June 9, 2015 – Board Work Study Meeting June 16, 2015 – Special Board Meeting

- 2. Request for Approval of Bills for Payment
- 3. School Construction Report

- 4. Request for Approval of Odessa High School Band, Choir, and Orchestra Out-of-State Travel to Honolulu, Hawaii
- 5. Request for Approval of Resolution Committing Fund Balance in Accordance with GASB 54
- 6. Request for Approval of Purchases over \$50,000
- Consider Adoption of a Resolution Calling a Portion of the District's Outstanding Unlimited Tax School Building Bonds, Series 2013 for Redemption Prior to Maturity; and Enacting Other Provisions Relating to the Subject
- 8. Request for Approval of Bank Depository Contract
- 9. Request for Approval of Budget Amendment #4
- 10. Request for Approval of 2015-16 PDAS Appraisal Calendar and Timelines
- 11. Request for Approval of 2015-16 PDAS Appraisers
- 12. Request for Approval of Amendment to Interlocal Agreement/TCC Service Agreement for iTCCS to ESC

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of Reorganization of Board of Trustees Naming President, Vice-President, and Secretary: Texas Education Code, Section 11.061(C) requires that each school board "organize at the first meeting after the election and qualification of trustees." Trustees submitted the following nominations for the official voting ballot.

The following nominations for Board President were presented:

Nelson Minyard Seven (7) Votes

The following nominations for Board Vice-President were presented:

Ray Beaty, D.C. Three (3) Votes
Dr. Steve Brown
Teri Ervin Four (4) Votes

The following nominations for Board Secretary were presented:

Ray Beaty, D.C. One (1) Vote
Teri Ervin Three (3) Votes
Doyle Woodall Three (3) Votes

Teri Ervin and Doyle Woodall both received three votes for the secretary position; Teri Ervin received the majority vote for Board Vice-President; therefore a tie breaker vote was not necessary for Board Secretary being a Trustee cannot hold two positions.

The following Trustees will serve as the 2015-2016 Board of Trustees' Officers for Ector County ISD:

President: Nelson Minyard

Vice-President: Teri Ervin Secretary: Doyle Woodall

23002 Adjournment: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Ervin to adjourn meeting.

Motion unanimously approved.

Dr. Steve Brown, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 7:34 p.m.

Board President Board Secretary

Dr. Steve Brown

Teri Wheat Ervin MEd