## **DRAFT**

# Minutes of the December 13, 2010 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on December 13, 2010 at 6:30 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road. The meeting was called to order by President Cindy Warner.

Members present: Cindy Warner, President; Anthony Hill, Vice President; David Apple, Secretary; Susie Kemp; Bennett Ratliff; Scott Orr and Thom Hulme

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on December 10, 2010 at 11:59 a.m.

At 6:30 p.m., President Warner declared the Board in closed session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters.

At 7:28 p.m., President Warner declared the Board in Open Session.

Staff present: Dr. Jeff Turner, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Assistant Secretary; Kelly Penny; Sid Grant; Tracey Wallace; Melody Paschall; Curriculum Staff; Tamerah Ringo; Leanne Dorhout; Tabitha Branum; Amanda Ziaer; Laura Springer; Barbara Sabedra; Deana Harrell; Jeb Puryear; and Debbie Fruithandler

The invocation was given by Scott Orr.

#### **AWARDS**

Holiday Greeting Card Winner – Samuel Park State Cross Country Runner – Kaleigh Ervin

#### **OPEN FORUM**

No one came forward to address the Board of Trustees during the Open Forum portion of the meeting.

### **DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS**

<u>SUPERINTENDENT</u> – Jim Walsh and Nona Matthews from the law firm of Walsh, Anderson, Brown, Gallegos & Green presented checks to Sarah Slover, an 8<sup>th</sup> grade student at CMS East, for her winning design of the firm's holiday greeting card and to the CMS East Art Department.

**BOARD PRESIDENT** – Cindy Warner gave a report on the Board of Trustees Continuing Education Credit. All members have exceeded the requirements for Tier I, Tier II and Tier III training.

### **BOARD MEMBERS**:

Bennett Ratliff – Education Foundation's Grant Patrol Anthony Hill – TAGT Conference, DEIC and NTAASB meetings

### **CONSENT**

Anthony Hill made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve minutes of the Board Meetings held on November 15, 2010 and December 6, 2010
- 2. Approve Financial Report for November 2010
- 3. Approve Quarterly Investment report for Period Ending November 30, 2010
- 4. Approve Budget Amendments for 2010-2011
- 5. Approve Prekindergarten System Adoption Committee members
- 6. Approve ELAR Textbook Adoption Committee members
- 7. Approve Resolution of Acknowledgment Make Education a Priority

Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

#### **ACTION**

Scott Orr made a motion to approve in principle the concept of dual cumulative GPA and rank in class as presented, subject to further review and revision by TASB (effective for the incoming freshmen of 2011-12). Bennett Ratliff seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Scott Orr made a motion to approve the new IB courses (for the 2011-2012 school year) as presented subject to discussion about language regarding previous experience recommended in the theatre and film classes. David Apple seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to adopt the annual financial audit for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2010, as presented. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to employ professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

Susie Kemp made a motion to accept resignations for CISD professional personnel as recommended by the Superintendent. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 7-0.

The meeting adjourned at 8:47 p.m.

Cindy Warner, Board President	
David Apple, Secretary	