WHITE SETTLEMENT INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT OFFICIAL MINUTES April 14, 2025

Members Present

Ms. Krystal Arnold, Mr. John Bradley, Mr. Ben Davis, Dr. Jeremy Lelek, Mr. Raymond Patterson, and Ms. Amanda Sanchez.

School Officials Present

Mr. Frank Molinar, Mr. David Bitters, and Mr. Chris Jenkins

The meeting was called to order at 5:33 p.m. Following roll call, the announcement was made by Mr. Ben Davis, Board President, that 6 members of the Board of Trustees present constitutes a quorum.

Campus Spotlight- West Early Learners Academy

B. Public Comments

Six people signed up to address the board.

- 1. Judge Christopher Gregory regarding SB 1924.
- 2. Kim Woolsey regarding the Transition Center.
- 3. Christopher Saucedo regarding a scholarship opportunity.
- 4. John Morton regarding A-F ratings.
- 5. Eric Crile regarding TAD Board & HB 1952.
- 6. Brock Koehnlein regarding "Thank You" to WSISD.

C. Closed Meeting

The Board adjourned to closed session at 6:01p.m.

D. Reconvene to Open Session

The Board reconvened to open session at 7:05 p.m.

E. Information Items

Superintendent's Report

Financial Update

- a. Mr. David Bitters, Assistant Superintendent of Finance and Operations, gave a financial update to the Board for March 2025. He also gave a presentation of recent financial awards received by the district.
- 1. Mr. David Bitters, Assistant Superintendent of Finance and Operations, then gave a brief construction update.
- 2. Mr. Roger Bowen, Technology Director, and Dr. Maria Ing, Assistant Director, gave a 3-Year District Technology update to the board.
 - b. Instructional Update

Mr. Chris Jenkins, Assistant Superintendent of Curriculum and Instruction, introduced Ms. Heather Crow and Ms. Crystal Intfen, who gave an update on the Instructional Coaches.

c. Announce Completion of Board of Trustees Training

Mr. Ben Davis, Board President, announced that all seven of the board members have met or exceeded the required number of hours of continuing education for the 2024-2025 year.

F. Consent Items

The motion was made by Mr. John Bradley and seconded by Dr. Jeremy Lelek to approve the 8 consent items on the agenda.

- 1. Approve Minutes of March 24, 2025 Regular Meeting
- 2. Consider Monthly Expenditures for March 2025
- 3. Consider Approval of Amended Budgets
- 4. Consider Joint Election Agreement and Contract for Election Services with Tarrant County Elections for the May 3, 2025 General Election
- 5. Consider Changing the Date of the Regular June Board Meeting
- 6. Consider Approval of Vendor for the Purchase of Computers for CTE

Motion carried with 6 Ayes, 0 Nays

G. Separate Items

1. Consider Approval of Vendor for Insulating the AG Barn at Brewer High School

Following the presentation, Mr. Raymond Patterson made the motion and seconded by Ms. Amanda Sanchez to approve the vendor for insulating the AG Barn as presented.

Motion carried with 6 Ayes, 0 Nays

2. Consider an Order Authorizing the Issuance of Unlimited Tax Refunding Bonds

Following the presentation by Mr. Nick Bulaich, Hilltop Securities, Ms. Krystal Arnold made the motion and seconded by Mr. Raymond Patterson to approve the Order Authorizing the Issuance of Unlimited Tax Refunding Bonds as presented.

Motion carried with 6 Ayes, 0 Nays

H. Consider Items Discussed in Closed Meeting Including Personnel

The motion was made by Ms. Amanda Sanchez and seconded by Dr. Jeremy Lelek to approve the resignations of Christopher Cabral, Casey Jones, Taylor Peebler, Victoria Sheward, and Katelyn Ward, the retirements of Chris Jenkins and Many Jenkins, the appointments of Jayden Coleman, Heather Crow, Carey Eby, Lauren "Allex" Hensel, Zeke Kuyawa, Tommy Neal, Blaine Sanderson, Joanie Shields, and Randy Summerhill as presented.

CONTRACT EXTENSIONS FOR 2025-2026:

Brewer High School

Jenna Hooten- Probationary 2nd Year Amelia Markezich- Probationary 1st Year Ronald Mendoza- Probationary- 1st Year

Ronald Mendoza- Probationary- 1st Year		
West		
Ashley Takaki- Probationary- 1st Year		
Motion carried with 6 Ayes, 0 Nays		
<u>I. Adjourn</u>		
1. Aujourn		
The meeting adjourned at 8:14 p.m.		
	President	
Secretary		