ALEDO INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES REGULAR MEETING May 18, 2015

MINUTES

BOARD MEETING

The Regular Meeting of the Board of Trustees of the Aledo Independent School District was held on Monday, May 18, 2015, beginning at 7:00 P.M. in the Aledo I.S.D. Board Room with the following members present: President Jay Stringer, Vice President David Davis, Secretary Steve Bartley, Bobby J Rigues, Jennifer Loftin, Hoyt Harris and Dr. David Tillman.

AGENDA

President Jay Stringer called the meeting to order at 7:00 P.M.

President Jay Stringer determined a quorum was present at this time.

Ron Miller, Aledo Learning Center Principal, led everyone in the pledges of allegiance to the United States and Texas Flags.

A moment of silent prayer or reflection was observed.

Ron Miller, Principal of Aledo Learning Center gave an overview of the programs at the Learning Center including Accelerated Learning as well as DAEP.

A motion was made by David Davis, seconded by Bobby J Rigues, to approve the official canvass election results from the Parker County Elections Department for the May 9 Trustee Election as follows; Place 1 - Jay Stringer, Place 2 - Jennifer Loftin and Place 3 - David Tillman. (Attachment A - I)

Motion was:

- **6** FOR (Jennifer Loftin was not sworn in when this vote was taken)
- 0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Steve Bartley, seconded by Hoyt Harris, to approve the official canvass election results from the Parker County Elections Department for the May 9 Bond Election which passed. (Attachment J)

Motion was:

- FOR (Jennifer Loftin was not sworn in when this vote was taken)
- 0 AGAINST

Donna Roe, Board Secretary swore in Place 1 Board Member Jay Stringer, Place 2 Board Member Jennifer Loftin and Place 3 Board Member David Tillman.

Mrs. Lynn McKinney, Deputy Superintendent, and Jay Stringer presented certificates to the State Visual Arts Scholastic students, the Varsity Color Guard, our Horse Judging Team, and McCall Elementary for being a Title I High Progress School.

At 7:32 P.M., the Board was called to executive session by President Jay Stringer, after citing Texas Government Codes Section 551.074 to discuss the qualifications of public officers.

The meeting was declared in open session by President Jay Stringer, at 7:42 P.M. with no action taken.

A motion was made by Steve Bartley to elect Jay Stringer as Board President.

Motion was:

- 7 FOR
- 0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Jay Stringer to elect David Davis as Board Vice President.

Motion was:

- 7 FOR
- 0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Hoyt Harris to elect Steve Bartley as Board Secretary.

Motion was:

- 7 FOR
- 0 AGAINST

Dr. Derek Citty, Superintendent, reported on upcoming District events, the next steps concerning the bond with the construction of elementary school #5, safety and security projects, technology, bus purchase, and renovation work throughout the District. Dr. Citty also suggested a Special Board meeting to be held on June 3 at 8:30 A. M. to discuss the bus purchase and everyone agreed. Dr. Citty then introduced Michelle Yates, our new Science Specialist.

Mr. Jay Stringer, President, announced that the Learning Center graduation will be on June 8 and invited all to attend. Mr. Stringer suggested that Johnny Campbell be recognized at the June 15 Board Meeting to honor his 10 years of service and all agreed. Mr. Stringer reminded the Board of the Summer Leadership Training to be held in Fort Worth in June, the Superintendent evaluation process in July, updating the Board calendar in August, and Team of Eight training in October.

Dr. David Tillman reported that the Community Partners had a successful year and had recently collected 510 pounds of food in their food drive for the Center of Hope.

Mr. Hoyt Harris stated that the Education Foundation Golf Tournament will be on June 12 at Split Rail Golf Course.

President Jay Stringer opened the floor for Public Comment. Mr. Robert Cox spoke on teacher salaries, and Ms. Debra Rogers spoke about leadership.

A motion was made by David Davis, seconded by Steve Bartley, to approve the April 20, 2015 minutes, the monthly financial report, a budget amendment relating to bond refunding, and Region XI contracts as presented by administration.

Motion was:

7 FOR

1 AGAINST

President Jay Stringer introduced administrative report items:

~ School Health Advisory Council Report – Scott Kessel, Director of Student Services & Safety, and 2 members of this council, Regina Carlson and Elizabeth Newman presented this annual report.

A motion was made by Steve Bartley, seconded by Hoyt Harris, to approve the 2015-2018 Strategic Plan as presented by administration.

Motion was:

7 FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by David Davis, seconded by Jay Stringer, to approve the purchase/lease of portable classrooms for McAnally Intermediate School as presented by administration.

Motion was:

7 FOR

0 AGAINST

A motion was made by Steve Bartley, seconded by Hoyt Harris, to approve the audit firm's engagement letter for 2014-2015 as presented by administration.

Motion was:

7 FOR

0 AGAINST

At 8:48 P.M., the Board was called to executive session by President Jay Stringer, after citing Texas Government Codes Section 551.074 (Personnel) and 551.072 (Real Property).

The meeting was declared in open session by President Jay Stringer, at 9:47 P.M. with no action taken.

A motion was made by David Davis, seconded by Jennifer Loftin to approve a one Term Contract as presented in executive session.

Motion was:

7 FOR

0

AGAINST

President Jay Stringer adjourned the meeting at 9:45 P.M.		
SECRETARY	PRESIDENT	
APPROVED	, 2015.	

Trustee Comments/Acknowledgements – Congratulations to Jennifer Loftin and we look forward to working with you. Tonight was a good meeting.