TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES NOON MEETING MINUTES NOVEMBER 9, 2010

The Board of Trustees of the Tupelo Public School District convened in a regular meeting of the Board held in open session at noon on Tuesday, October 26, 2010, at the Hancock Leadership Center, 1920 Briar Ridge, Tupelo, Mississippi.

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Lee Tucker who welcomed guests attending the meeting. Members of the press were also in attendance.

ROLL CALL AND ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM

The following School Board members were present during roll call:

- Members Present: Mrs. Amy Heyer Mr. John Nail Mr. Eddie Prather Mrs. Beth Stone Mr. Lee Tucker
- Staff Present: Dr. Randy Shaver Mr. Danny Porter Mrs. Diana Ezell Mrs. Pamela Traylor Dr. Fred Hill Mr. Kenneth Roberts Mr. David Meadows Mrs. Mary Ruth Wright Mrs. Linda Pannell Dr. Derwood Tutor Mrs. Glenda Scott Mrs. Mary Ann Plasencia Mrs. Jennifer Strunk Mr. Larry Harmon Mrs. Marisa Martin Mr. Terry Hatch Mrs. Mary Ruth Wright Ms. Patrice Tate Mrs. Brenda Meriweather Mrs. Julie Hinds Mrs. Dale Warriner Mr. Marvin Nickels Mrs. Lynne Rogers Mrs. Julie Connolly

REVIEW OF AGENDA TOPICS

Board Members and Tupelo Public School District staff members reviewed agenda topics and heard reports in a work session type format for the November 9, 2010, meeting of the Board of Trustees as follows:

- A. Consent Agenda
- B. Student Transfer Report
- C. Personnel Report
- D. Docket of Claims
- E. Statement of Cash Flow for Month Ending 9-30-10

- F. Student Discipline Report First Nine Weeks
- G. Student Discipline Report (Case #19)
- H. Policy Changes
- I. Request to Amend FY11 Budget to Include Federal Education Jobs Award
- J. Change Order Number Five (5) for THS Additions and Renovations Phase II Project

The following reports were given:

District Endowment

Mrs. Mary Ann Plasencia and CREATE Foundation representatives Jan Eastman and Juanita Floyd presented information regarding establishing a district endowment through the CREATE Foundation.

iCORE Presentation

The Board heard a report from Ms. Bonnie Loague regarding iCORE which is an educational tool for math and science.

Accountability Report – 2010-2011 Licensed Staff Attendance for Month 1 and New Program Updates

Mr. David Meadows provided Accountability reports in two areas: 2010-2011 Licensed Staff Attendance for Month 1 and New Program Updates for High School Advancement Academy, School Age Mothers, and Ombudsman.

Executive Session – Personnel Matters

Board President Lee Tucker suggested to the School Board an executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel matters.

On a motion by Mr. Nail, seconded by Mrs. Heyer, the Board voted unanimously to enter executive session for the purpose of discussing personnel matters. Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the President of the Board declared the motion passed.

The room was cleared and the executive session was called to order by Mr. Tucker with the following people present: Mrs. Amy Heyer, Mr. Eddie Prather, Mr. John Nail, Mrs. Beth Stone, Mr. Lee Tucker, Dr. Randy Shaver, Dr. Fred Hill, Mrs. Diana Ezell, and Ms. Patrice Tate.

Mr. Tucker reopened the meeting to tell all those in attendance the reason for going into Executive Session was to discuss personnel matters.

Following the discussion of the first personnel matter Dr. Hill, Mrs. Ezell, and Ms. Tate left the meeting. Then, discussion began regarding another personnel matter. No action was taken during the Executive Session.

Upon a motion by Mr. Nail with a second by Mrs. Stone, the Board voted unanimously to come out of Executive Session. Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the President of the Board declared the motion passed.

ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business at this meeting of the Board of Trustees, it was moved by Mr. Prather and duly seconded by Mrs. Heyer that the Board adjourn. Mr. Tucker declared the meeting in adjournment at 2:50 p.m.

APPROVED:

ATTEST:

TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Lee Tucker, President

Eddie Prather, Secretary