Minutes of Called Board Meeting

A Called School Board Meeting of the Board of Education of Fort Smith Public Schools was held Thursday, June 1 2017, beginning at 5:30 PM in the Service Center, Bldg B.

The Board of Education Fort Smith Public Schools

Dr. Deanie Mehl, president, called the meeting to order. Other Board members present were Ms. Jeannie Cole, Mr. Wade Gilkey, Ms. Susan McFerran, Ms. Yvonne Keaton-Martin, Mr. Bill Hanesworth and Ms. Talicia Richardson. Dr. Doug Brubaker, Superintendent, was also present.

Dr. Deanie Mehl stated that the board would retire to executive session for the purpose of evaluating the superintendent. At 5:35 p.m., Dr. Brubaker was excused from the proceedings so that Board members could confer. At 5:50 p.m., Dr. Brubaker was called back to the closed session. Mr. Wade Gilkey left at 5:55 p.m. for a previously scheduled event. Dr. Brubaker and the other six Board members returned to open session at 6:52 p.m.

Mr. Bill Hanesworth made a motion, seconded by Ms. Jeannie Cole, to extend Dr. Brubaker's contract by one year, extending it to June 30, 2020. The vote passed with a 6/0 vote. Ms. Jeannie Cole made a motion, seconded by Mr. Bill Hanesworth, to continue Dr. Brubaker's current annual salary for the coming year. The vote passed with a 6/0 vote. Dr. Mehl stated that the Board looks forwarding to his leadership for the district.

The meeting adjourned at 6:55p.m.

Deanie Mehl, President
Bill Hanesworth, Secretary