AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING, BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 5:30 P.M., August 12, 2008, with the following members:

Present: Absent:

Fay Batch
Ray Beaty DC
Carol Gregg
Dr. Donnie Norwood
Tom Pace
Dr. Donna Smith
Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Leon

Fuller, Irene Granado, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Elaine Smith,

Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez

Others: David Harwell, Chuck Isner, Marsha Dry, Glenn DeMoss, Rebecca

Mull, Shari Story, Diana Mata, Sgt. Pete Frankson, Sheryl Smith, Elaine Marsilio, Jaclyn Gaona, Al Harris, Mike Atkins, Michael

Adkins, Ann Suiter, Nelda Loya

<u>Meeting Called to Order:</u> Carol Gregg, Board President, called the

Special Board of Trustees Meeting to order.

<u>Public Hearing to Discuss Proposed 2008-2009 Budget and Tax Rate:</u>

A Public Hearing was held for the proposed 2008-2009 Budget and Tax Rate. The following citizen addressed the Board:

Chuck Isner - TSTA local President

1102 Maple Ave. Odessa, TX 79762

20287 Request for Approval of Adoption of 2008-2009 Official Budget: Moved by Pace, seconded by Smith to approve the adoption of the 2008-2009 Official Budget as presented with the exception of the teacher salary

schedule to be modified and go to step 40.

Motion unanimously approved.

Request for Approval of 2008-2009 Tax Rate: Moved by Smith, seconded by Wilkins that the property taxes be increased by the adoption of a Maintenance and Operations tax rate of \$1.04. In addition, that the tax

rate resolution be adopted as presented.

For: Against: Fay Batch Ray Beaty DC Carol Gregg

Dr. Donnie Norwood

Tom Pace

Dr. Donna Smith Yollie Wilkins

Motion carried.

Moved by Smith, seconded by Batch that the property taxes be increased by the adoption of an Interest and Sinking Fund tax rate of .0886 cents. In addition that the tax rate resolution be adopted as presented.

For: Against: Ray Beaty DC

Carol Gregg

Dr. Donnie Norwood

Tom Pace

Dr. Donna Smith Yollie Wilkins

Motion carried.

20289

Request for Approval of Board Resolution Explaining Intent to Exceed or Fall Short of Proposed Expenditure Target Established by The Commissioner of Education: Moved by Smith, seconded by Pace to approve the Board Resolution Explaining Intent to Exceed or Fall Short of Proposed Expenditure Target Established by the Commissioner of

Education.

Motion unanimously approved.

20290 Adjournment: Carol Gregg, Board President, adjourned the Special Board meeting at 6:21 P.M.

Board President Board Secretary

Carol Gregg Fay Batch