## Board Recognition August 8, 2023

## Denton ISD Secondary Coordinator for Curriculum, Instruction and Staff Development wins statewide award

Since 1995, the Texas Council of Teachers of Mathematics (TCTM) has presented the Nancy Trapp Leadership Award to a TCTM member for their contribution to mathematics education at the local or state level.

This year, the TCTM presented the Nancy Trapp Leadership Award to Denton ISD Secondary Coordinator for Curriculum, Instruction and Staff Development Grace Anne McKay. Ms. McKay received this distinguished honor for her continued contributions to mathematics education, as well as her outstanding leadership.

The award is named for Nancy Trapp, who taught in Lyford CISD in the Rio Grande Valley. Ms. Trapp was active in mathematics education leadership at the local and state level, serving on the boards of directors of the Rio Grande Valley Council of Teachers of Mathematics, the Texas Council of Teachers of Mathematics – where she was a past President, and the Conference for the Advancement of Mathematics Teaching (CAMT).

The TCTM is a professional organization that encourages an active interest in mathematics, where educators can study and increase their knowledge of effective teaching practices in mathematics.

TCTM's mission is focused on five areas: recruit and retain mathematics teachers, support curriculum and instruction, advocate education policy, communicate with teachers and serve as the Texas partner affiliate to the National Council of Teachers of Mathematics (NCTM). In addition, TCTM is also an affiliate of the National Council of Supervisors of Mathematics (NCSM).