

Division of Elementary and Secondary Education

Transforming Arkansas to lead the nation in student-focused education

February 1, 2023 **Jacob** Oliva Secretary **Dr. Ivy Pfeffer** Johnl Colbert, Superintendent Deputy **Fayetteville School District** Commissioner johnl.colbert@favar.net **Stacy Smith** Deputy Commissioner Dear Superintendent Colbert, State Board of Based on data from the 2022 State Summative Assessments, the Division of Elementary and Education Secondary Education will recommend to the State Board of Education at the State Board of Education meeting on March 9, 2023 that Fayetteville Virtual Academy a District Conversion Charter be placed in Accredited-Cited status under Standard 1-C.1.1 of the Standards for **Ouida Newton** Accreditation for Arkansas Public Schools and School Districts because it did not meet the ninety-Poven five percent (95%) testing requirement in Math and ELA for the 2021-2022 school year. If the State Chair Board confirms the Division's classification the Accredited-Cited status will remain with the Fayetteville Virtual Academy throughout the 2022-2023 school year and will be reported on the **Dr. Sarah Moore** final accreditation report. This would be a first-year classification. Please note that the Standards Stuttgart and Support Office will continue to monitor the school and district throughout the school year for Vice Chair additional Standards exceptions. Dr. Fitz Hill If the district wishes to appeal the Division's classification to the State Board of Education, it may Little Rock do so within fifteen (15) calendar days of receipt of this notification. The appeal must be in writing on district letterhead and submitted to Matthew Sutherlin at Kathy McFetridge Matthew.Sutherlin@ade.arkansas.gov. Appeal rights and the appeals process can be found in the Springdale Rules Governing the Standards for Accreditation at Section 10.00. A copy of the Rules is available at the following link: ARKANSAS DIVISION OF ELEMENTARY AND SECONDARY EDUCATION RULES GOVERNING STANDARDS FOR ACCREDITATION OF ARKANSAS PUBLIC SCHOOLS Steve Sutton AND SCHOOL DISTRICTS Effective Date: May 2, 2022. Marion Please confirm receipt of this email. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact **Adrienne Woods** Matthew Sutherlin at (501) 682-4379. Rogers Respectfully, **Randy Henderson** Blytheville offma Lisa Hunter White Hall

Jeff Wood *Little Rock* Deborah Coffmar