AT A SPECIAL WORKSHOP MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, AT 5:30 P.M., AUGUST 23, 2012, WITH THE FOLLOWING MEMBERS:

<u>Present</u>: <u>Absent</u>:

Fay Batch
Ray Beaty, D.C.
Luis Galvan
Dr. Donnie Norwood
Tom Pace
Dr. Donna C. Smith
Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Dr. H.T. Sanchez, Brian Moersch, David Finley, Dr.

Karen Kopec, Wendy Hines

Others: Mike Adkins, Karen McCord, Scott Randolph, Sherrill Watson, Carolyn

Gonzalez, Tommie Robinson, Mike Atkins, Elaine Sparks, Cynthia

McNabb

21790 Meeting Called to Order: Ray Beaty, D.C., Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order at 5:35 p.m.

(Luis Galvan was absent for this portion of the meeting.)

21791 Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Ray Beaty, D.C., Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

(Luis Galvan was absent for this portion of the meeting.)

<u>Public Hearing to Discuss Proposed 2012- 2013 Budget and Tax Rate:</u>
Chief of Staff, Dr. H.T. Sánchez presented Trustees with the Proposed 20122013 Budget and Tax Rate.

No Action Required.

(Luis Galvan arrived at 5:39 p.m. and was present for the remainder of the meeting.)

Request for Approval of Adoption of 2012-2013 Official Budget: Moved by Pace, seconded by Batch to approve the Adoption of 2012-2013 Official Budget as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

	Request for	Approval of	f 2012 Tax	Rate:	Moved	by	Pace,	seconded	by
	Wilkins to approve the 2012 Tax Rate as presented.								

For: Abstained: Fay Batch Luis Galvan

Ray Beaty, D.C. Dr. Donnie Norwood Tom Pace Dr. Donna C. Smith Yollie Wilkins

Motion carried.

<u>21795</u> Truancy Contract with City of Odessa: Chief of Staff, Dr. H.T. Sánchez provided Trustees an update on the Truancy Contract with the City of Odessa.

No Action Required.

21796 Adjournment: Ray Beaty, D.C., Board President, adjourned the Special Board Workshop at 6:08 p.m.

Board President Board Secretary
Ray Beaty, D.C. Donna Smith