TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES NOON MEETING MINUTES FEBRUARY 2, 2010

The Board of Trustees of the Tupelo Public School District convened in a regular meeting of the Board held in open session at noon on Tuesday, February 2, 2010, at the Hancock Leadership Center, 1920 Briar Ridge, Tupelo, Mississippi.

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order by President Mike Clayborne who welcomed guests attending the meeting. Members of the press were also in attendance.

ROLL CALL AND ESTABLISHMENT OF A QUORUM

The following School Board members were present during roll call:

- Members Present: Mr. Mike Clayborne Mrs. Amy Heyer Mr. Eddie Prather Mr. Lee Tucker
- Members Absent: Mr. John Nail
- Staff Present: Dr. Randy Shaver Mrs. Diana Ezell Dr. Fred Hill Dr. George Noflin Mr. David Meadows Mrs. Linda Pannell Mrs. Dale Warriner Mrs. Mary Ruth Wright Dr. Derwood Tutor Mr. Jim Turner Mrs. Julie Hinds Mr. Bob Monroe

Mr. Kenneth Roberts Mr. Bobby Sheffield Mrs. Niki Peel Mrs. Kay Collins Mrs. Christy Carroll Mr. Larry Harmon Mr. Terry Hatch Dr. Terry Harbin Ms. Patrice Tate Mrs. Jennifer Strunk Mrs. Kay Bishop

III. **REVIEW OF AGENDA TOPICS**

Board Members and Tupelo Public School District staff members reviewed agenda topics and heard reports in a work session type format for the February 2, 2010, meeting of the Board of Trustees as follows:

- Α. Initial Discussion of 2010-2011 School Calendar
- 2009-2010 School Improvement Plan Quarterly Reports (Milam, Church and Β. Lawhon Elementary Schools)
- C. Consent Agenda
- D. Student Transfer Report

- E. Personnel Report
- F. Docket of Claims and Registers
- G. Financial Statements for Month Ending 12-31-09
- H. Cash Flow Statements for Month Ending 11-30-09
- I. Policy Changes (GDBA-E, IJND and IJND-E)
- J. Second Nine-Weeks Student Discipline Report
- K. Student Discipline Readmission of Student #2022
- L. Awarding of Advertised Bid #BD1002 Maintenance Building at THS
- M. Summer 2010 Opportunity Camps
- N. Early Childhood Education Center Tuition Class
- O. Tuition-Based Enrichment Camp at ECEC, Summer 2010
- P. Title II-D Enhancing Education through Technology (E2T2) ARRA Formula Application 2009-2010

IV. Executive Session – Student and Personnel Matter

Board President Mike Clayborne suggested to the School Board a temporary executive session to determine the need for a permanent executive session for the purpose of discussing a student and personnel matter.

On a motion by Mr. Tucker, seconded by Mrs. Heyer, the Board voted unanimously to enter temporary executive session for the purpose of determining a need for permanent executive session. Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the President of the Board declared the motion passed.

The room was cleared and the temporary executive session was called to order by President Mike Clayborne with the following people present: Mr. Mike Clayborne, Mrs. Amy Heyer, Mr. Eddie Prather, Mr. Lee Tucker, Dr. Randy Shaver, Dr. George Noflin. Dr. Terry Harbin and Ms. Patrice Tate.

The Executive Session was called to order and the Board first considered the reason for entering executive session. Upon a motion by Mr. Tucker with a second by Mrs. Heyer, the Board voted unanimously to remain in Executive Session for the purpose of discussing a student and personnel matter.

Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the President of the Board declared the motion passed.

Mr. Clayborne reopened the meeting to tell all those in attendance the reason for going into Executive Session was to discuss a student and personnel matter.

Next, Student #2021 and his/her parents entered the meeting and the parents addressed the Board regarding Student Discipline Case #2021. After speaking with the Board the parents left the meeting. Dr. Terry Harbin also left the meeting.

After discussion, on a motion by Mr. Prather, seconded by Mr. Tucker, the Board voted unanimously to upheld, support, and ratify the administrative recommendation to place Student #2021 at the Fillmore Center for the remainder of the school year for violation of TPSD Policy JICI Dangerous Weapons in Schools. Upon motion duly made, seconded, and

carried unanimously by all members present, the President of the Board declared the motion passed. Information regarding Student Discipline Case #2021 is marked EXHIBIT 1 and held in the Exhibit Book of this meeting date and incorporated herein.

Ms. Patrice Tate left the Executive Session at this point in the meeting.

Next, the Board discussed a personnel matter, however, no action was taken.

Upon a motion by Mr. Tucker with a second by Mrs. Heyer, the Board voted unanimously to come out of Executive Session. Upon motion duly made, seconded, and carried unanimously by all members present, the President of the Board declared the motion passed.

V. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business at this meeting of the Board of Trustees, it was moved by Mr. Prather and duly seconded by Mr. Tucker that the Board adjourn. Mr. Clayborne declared the meeting in adjournment at 3:00 p.m.

APPROVED:

ATTEST:

TUPELO PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Mike Clayborne, President

Arlissa Heyer, Secretary