AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 p.m., June 15, 2010, with the following members:

Present:

Absent:

Fay Batch Ray Beaty, DC Luis Galvan Dr. Donnie Norwood Tom Pace Dr. Donna C. Smith Yollie Wilkins

- School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Shawn Bell, Dr. Steve Brown, David Finley, Leon Fuller, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley, Tonya Tillman
- Others: Alice Rodriguez, Bobbie Smith, Yvonne Asakawa, Erin Wilkerson, Jeff Middleton, Jacques Nelson, Pam Harper, Sharyn Smith, Lupe Hernandez, Patty McRight, Beckie Stephens, Ken Chancellor, Mayra Leyva, Ian Roark, Joe & Nelly Salmon, Dana Wiest, Marilee Holmes, Cynthia McNabb, Tom Dyland, Sharon Ashton, Elaine Smith, David Harwell, Pam Kwiatkowski, Chuck Isner, Michael Adkins, Mike Barker, Al Harris, Roy Waggoner, Mike Atkins, Michelle Edwards, Nelda Loya
- **20983** <u>Meeting Called to Order</u>: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order.
- **20984 Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags:** The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Gonzales Elementary Students, Noah Byford and Cameron Rodriguez.
- **20985** Invocation: Invocation was led by Rev. Malcolm Tyree from Grace Point Church.

20986 Special Presentations:

Recognition of State Qualifiers –

Odessa High School Boys' Gymnastics Team was recognized for qualifying for the State Gymnastics meet in April—the first time in school history the boys qualified for the State Meet as a team.

Permian sophomore Jamia Graham was recognized for finishing second in the 800 meter run at the State Track & Field Meet in May.

Recognition of Brian Moersch, Senior Professional in Human Resources –

Executive Director for District Operations Brian Moersch, was recognized for earning the Senior Professional in Human Resources certification. The certification is awarded by the HR Certification Institute; only 4.7% of HR professionals have earned this designation and pass rate for the exam is just 52%.

- **20987** Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.
- **20988** Approval of Consent Agenda: Moved by Batch, seconded by Norwood that the Consent Agenda be approved as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20989 Request for Approval of Reorganization of Board of Trustees:

The following nominations for Board President were presented:

Fay Batch – 3 votes Tom Pace – 4 votes

The following nominations for Board Vice-President were presented:

Fay Batch – 2 votes Ray Beaty, D.C. – 3 votes Yollie Wilkins – 2 votes

The following nominations for Board Secretary were presented:

Ray Beaty, D.C. – 1 vote Dr. Donnie Norwood – 6 votes The following will serve as 2010-2011 Board of Trustees Officers for the Ector County Independent School District:

President: Tom Pace Vice-President: Ray Beaty, D.C. Secretary: Dr. Donnie Norwood

20990 Request for Approval of Appointment of TASB Delegate and Alternate and Submission of Advocacy Resolution for 2010 TASB Delegate Assembly: Moved by Pace, seconded by Norwood to approve Yollie Wilkins as TASB Delegate and Luis Galvan as alternate.

Motion unanimously approved.

20991 Request for Approval of District Continuous Improvement Plan: Moved by Batch, seconded by Wilkins to approve to the District Continuous Improvement Plan as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20992 Request for Approval of Teen Parent Center Building Improvement: Moved by Smith, seconded by Norwood to approve the Teen Parent Center building improvement as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20993 Request for Approval of Budget Amendment #6: Moved by Smith, seconded by Batch to approve Budget Amendment #6 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

20994 Request for Approval of Textbook Adoptions: Moved by Smith, seconded by Batch to approve Textbook Adoptions as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

- **20995** Discussion of Board Policy Update #87 (First Reading): Board Policies from Update #87 were presented for discussion and first reading.
- 20996 Closed Meeting Personnel Matters Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: Tom Pace, Board President, convened the Board of Trustees in Executive Session at 6:48 p.m.

Tom Pace, Board President, stated the Board ended its Closed or Executive Session at 7:00 p.m.

20997 Request for Approval of Recommendation to Hire Principal for Murry Fly <u>Elementary</u>: Moved by Wilkins, seconded by Norwood to approve the recommendation to hire Lety Amalla as principal for Murry Fly Elementary.

Motion unanimously approved.

Superintendent of Schools Hector Mendez, announced that Yolanda Hernandez would be moved to Murry Fly and Lety Amalla would be moved to Ross Elementary.

- 20998 Request for Approval of Recommendation to Hire Assistant Superintendent for Instruction: Item Tabled.
- 20999 Request for Approval of Recommendation to Hire Assistant Superintendent for Accountability and Special Populations: Item Tabled.
- **<u>21000</u>** Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report: Moved by Smith, seconded by Batch to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>21001</u> <u>Adjournment</u>: Tom Pace, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 7:03 p.m.

Board President Tom Pace Board Secretary Dr. Donnie Norwood