# **DRAFT**

# Minutes of the November 16, 2009 Regular School Board Meeting

The Board of Trustees of the Coppell Independent School District, #057-922, met in a regular session on November 16, 2009 at 5:58 p.m. in the Board Room of the Vonita White Administration Building, 200 S. Denton Tap Road. The meeting was called to order by President Cindy Warner.

Members present: Cindy Warner, President; Bennett Ratliff, Vice President; Susie Kemp, Secretary; Anthony Hill; Scott Orr and Thom Hulme

Members absent: David Apple

A quorum was present.

Notice of this meeting was posted on November 13, 2009 at 3:20 p.m.

Great Educators Matter (GEM) recognition for the fourth quarter was held. The following individuals were honored:

Heather Ballarrd (5<sup>th</sup> Grade Teacher, Wilson Elementary); Rhonda Carr (Asst. Principal, CMS West); Kathy Creek (Student Systems Support Coordinator); Suzi Downey (Special Ed. Aide, Wilson Elementary); Kari Echols (Music Teacher, Valley Ranch Elementary); Marla Gaffner, Chelsea Hawkins, Truly Hough, and David Noel (5<sup>th</sup> Grade Teachers, Mockingbird Elementary); Eric Hanson (Music Teacher, Wilson Elementary); Mallory Jackson (2<sup>nd</sup> Grade Teacher, Valley Ranch Elementary); Cheri Johnson (Admin. Assistant, CMS West); Carrie Knowles (7<sup>th</sup> Grade Science Teacher, CMS North); Matt Leininger (History Co-Teacher/Coach, CMS East); Christina Malone (Special Ed./Co-Teacher, CMS West); Sandra Mitchell (4<sup>th</sup> Grade Teacher, Town Center Elementary); Jean Mosley (Director of Child Nutrition); Brandy Osterberger (Math Facilitator, NTH@Coppell); Rhonda Pickrell (Teacher, Pinkerton Elementary); Brittany Reese (Drama Teacher, CMS North); Kris Rindles (5<sup>th</sup> Grade Teacher, Valley Ranch Elementary); Mary Rodriguez (1<sup>st</sup> Grade Teacher, Valley Ranch Elementary); Malinda Segar and Cathy Vanover (Spanish Teachers, CHS); Jennifer Torres (Art Teacher, Valley Ranch Elementary); Monica Uphoff (Director of Assessment); and Lori Vincenzo (Kindergarten Teacher, Town Center Elementary)

At 6:37 p.m., President Warner declared the Board in closed session, as authorized under the Government Code of Texas, as allowed by Section 551.072 –Deliberations regarding Real Property; and Section 551.074 – Personnel Matters.

At 7:32 p.m., President Warner declared the Board in Open Session.

Staff present: Dr. Jeff Turner, Superintendent; Kay Ryon, Assistant Secretary; Kelly Penny, Sid, Grant, Todd Kettler; Curriculum Staff, Tamerah Ringo; and Chad Branum

The invocation was given by Bennett Ratliff.

### **OPEN FORUM**

No one addressed the Board of Trustees during Open Forum.

#### **DISCUSSION AND REPORT ITEMS**

**BOARD PRESIDENT** – Cindy Warner reported on SHAC and gave a City Update.

**<u>BOARD MEMBERS</u>** – Anthony Hill gave a report on the DEIC, and Bennett Ratliff discussed the Trustees 4 Texas initiative.

**SUPERINTENDENT** – Dr. Turner reported on the community forums ("The Discussion").

# **CONSENT**

Bennett Ratliff made a motion to approve the following consent agenda items:

- 1. Approve minutes of the Board Meeting held on October 26, 2009
- 2. Approve budget amendments for 2009-2010
- 3. Approve Financial Report for October 2009
- 4. Approve Curriculum Department to purchase Credit by Exams from University of Texas
- 5. Approve Curriculum Department to develop local Credit by Exams
- 6. Adopt a resolution for CISD to cast its vote for the Fifth Member of the Board of Directors of the Dallas Central Appraisal District
- 7. Approve ELPS Textbook Adoption Committee

Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

## **ACTION**

Thom Hulme made a motion to adopt the revisions to Board Policy EIE (LOCAL) – Academic Achievement – Retention and Promotion as presented. Anthony Hill seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Anthony Hill made a motion to adopt the revisions to Board Policy CH (LOCAL) – Purchasing and Acquisition as presented. Thom Hulme seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

Scott Orr made a motion to approve the early release on January 19, 2010 for CISD high school students. Susie Kemp seconded the motion. The motion carried 6-0.

The meeting was adjourned at 8:14 p.m.	
	Cindy Warner, Board President
	Susie Kemp, Secretary