

# DENTON CENTRAL APPRAISAL DISTRICT

3911 MORSE STREET, PO BOX 2816 **DENTON, TEXAS 76202-2816** 

MEMO

TO:

Denton County, School Districts and Cities That Levy A Tax

FROM:

Rudy Durham, Chief Appraiser

SUBJECT:

Request for Nominations for DCAD Board of Directors

DATE:

August 30, 2013

It is time again for the taxing jurisdictions to select five individuals to serve as the DCAD Board of Directors. Each jurisdiction may nominate up to five people to be considered for the Board of Directors. According to Section 6.03 of the Property Tax Code, it is the chief appraiser's responsibility to initiate this process, which is the purpose of this memo.

Please note that a chief appraiser does not have the authority, or the duty, to investigate, or judge, the qualifications of the nominees. Further, a chief appraiser can not extend the deadline for receiving nominations.

Attached is a nominee form. Please return a form for each nominee before October 15, 2013.

### CALENDAR FOR APPOINTMENTS:

- 1. Before October 1st Each jurisdiction will be advised of the number of votes they are entitled to cast for Board members. (See Attached)
- 2. Before October 15th The governing body of each jurisdiction may nominate up to five candidate(s) to the DCAD Board of Directors. The number of votes that each jurisdiction has is not relevant in the initial nomination phase.
- 3. Before October 30th A comprehensive list of the nominees will be compiled and this information will be sent to the taxing jurisdictions in the form of a ballot.
- 4. Before December 15th The taxing jurisdictions choose by written resolution the candidate, or candidates, of their choice. The jurisdictions then submit the names of their candidates and the votes they cast for each candidate before the December 15th deadline.
- 5. Before December 31st A tabulation of the votes will be forwarded to the jurisdictions. The five candidates that have received the most votes become the Board of Directors as of January 1st.

PHONE: (940) 349-3800 METRO: (972) 434-2602 FAX: (940) 349-3801

#### **SELECTING A NOMINEE**

AUTHORITATIVE GUIDELINES - The selection process is set forth in Section 6.03 of the Property Tax Code. This process is not an "election" governed by the Texas Election Code. It is an independent procedure unique to the property tax system.

ELIGIBILITY - An appraisal district director must reside in the appraisal district for at least two years immediately proceeding the date he or she takes office. Most residents are eligible to serve as a director. An individual that is serving on the governing body of a city, county, or school district is eligible to serve as an appraisal district's director.

An employee of a taxing unit served by the appraisal district is not eligible to serve as a director. However, if the employee is an elected official, he or she is eligible to serve.

A statute relevant to the Board selection process prohibits nepotism and conflict of interest for appraisal district directors and chief appraisers. In summary, the law states that:

.........."a person may not serve as director if closely related to anyone in the appraisal district or if related to anyone who represents owners in the district, or if the person has an interest in a business that contract with the district or a taxing unit. A chief appraiser may not employ someone closely related to a member of the board of directors".

FREQUENCY OF MEETINGS - The applicable statutes require the board of directors to meet not less often than once each calendar quarter.

### NOMINATION FORM

Please return this form to DCAD before October 15, 2013. Reminder....your jurisdiction may nominate up to five candidates to the Denton Central Appraisal District Board of Directors.

Please include the address and phone number of your nomine	es.
Name of your jurisdiction:	
Name of nominee:	
Name	
Address	
City Zip	
Phone # ( ) -	

Return this form to:

Kathy Williams Denton Central Appraisal District P.O. Box 2816 Denton, TX 76202

## DENTON CENTRAL APPRAISAL DISTRICT 2013 DISTRIBUTION OF VOTES

JURISD	JCTIONS	2012 LEVY	%OF TOTAL <u>LEVIES</u>	NUMBER OF VOTES
	L DISTRICTS:	<u> 2012 DE 7 1</u>	CCVILO	<u>OF VOTES</u>
801	ARGYLE ISD	\$15,883,144.01	1.3307%	67
S02	AUBREY ISD	\$8,840,370.49	0.7407%	37
S03	CARROLLTON-FB ISD	\$36,417,722.56	3.0512%	153
S04	CELINA ISD	\$308,150.28	0.0258%	I
S05	DENTON ISD	\$154,853,076.25	12.9739%	648
\$15	ERA ISD	\$2,442.63	0.0002%	1
S06	FRISCO ISD	\$71,615,595.24	6.0001%	299
S07	KRUM ISD	\$9,999,020.10	0.8377%	42
508	LAKE DALLAS ISD	\$20,738,009.52	1.7375%	87
S09	LEWISVILLE ISD	\$343,164,917.76	28.7511%	1436
S10	LITTLE ELM ISD	\$28,338,423.10	2.3743%	119
S11	NORTHWEST ISD	\$66,683,082.51	5.5868%	278
S12 S13	PILOT POINT ISD	\$5,842,374.77	0.4895%	24
\$13 \$17	PONDER ISD PROSPER ISD	\$10,934,843.03	0.9161%	46
S17	SANGER ISD	\$883,926.69	0.0741%	4
S14	SLIDELL ISD	\$9,786,998.80	0.8200%	41
310	SCIDECE 130	\$749,771.21	0.0628%	3
SCHOO	L DISTRICTS TOTALS	<b>\$7</b> 85,041,868.95	65.772%	3286
G01	DENTON COUNTY	<b>\$</b> 155,597,418.83	13.04%	651
CITIES		,,	,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,	
C26	TOWN OF ARGYLE	\$1,666,289.35	0.1396%	7
C01	CITY OF AUBREY	\$794,631.49	0.0666%	3
C31	TOWN OF BARTONVILLE	\$467,931.82	0.0392%	2
C02	CITY OF CARROLLTON	\$27,833,813.30	2.3320%	116
C49	CITY OF CELINA	\$3,901.77	0.0003%	1
C03	CITY OF THE COLONY	\$14,843,420.68	1.2436%	62
C21	TOWN OF COPPELL	\$691,974.04	0.0580%	3
C27	TOWN OF COPPER CANYON	\$533,681.75	0.0447%	2
C04	CITY OF CORINTH	\$8,515,710.85	0.7135%	36
C47	CITY OF CORRAL CITY	<b>\$</b> 10,965.85	0.0009%	1
C20	CITY OF DALLAS	\$7,450,524.96	0.6242%	31
C05	CITY OF DENTON	\$47,057,961.19	3.9426%	196
C42	CITY OF DISH	\$60,878.38	0.0051%	1
C30	TOWN OF DOUBLE OAK	\$734,725.89	0.0616%	3
C07	TOWN OF FLOWER MOUND.	\$31,018,150.98	2.5988%	130
C36	CITY OF FORT WORTH	\$7,792,417.76	0.6529%	33
C32 C39	CITY OF FRISCO	\$25,257,100.57	2.1161%	106
C22	CITY OF GRAPEVINE TOWN OF HACKBERRY	\$332.22	0.0000%	1
C38	CITY OF HASLET	\$94,509,48	0.0079%	!
C19	TOWN OF HICKORY CREEK	\$522.62 \$1.304.035.65	0.0000%	1
C08	CITY OF HIGHLAND VILLAGE	\$1,304,975.55	0.1093%	5
C09	CITY OF JUSTIN	\$9,341,993.25 \$1,436,780.38	0.7827%	39
C18	CITY OF KRUGERVILLE	\$385,023.85	0.1204% 0.0323%	6 2
C10	CITY OF KRUM	\$1,389,049.20	0.1164%	6
CH	CITY OF LAKE DALLAS	\$2,353,939.53	0.1972%	10
C25	CITY OF LAKEWOOD VILLAGE	\$173,428.34	0.0145%	1
C12	CITY OF LEWISVILLE	\$29,817,168.31	2.4981%	124
C13	TOWN OF LITTLE ELM	\$10,719,949.17	0.8981%	45
C33	TOWN OF NORTHLAKE	\$707,051.32	0.0592%	3
C24	CITY OF OAK POINT	\$1,512,563.16	0.1267%	6
C14	CITY OF PILOT POINT	\$1,314,844.81	0.1102%	6
C29	CITY OF PLANO	\$4,092,915.00	0.3429%	17
C15	TOWN OF PONDER	\$503,399.88	0.0422%	2
C48	CITY OF PROSPER	\$267,024.17	0.0224%	1
C17	CITY OF ROANOKE	<b>\$</b> 4,157,574.90	0.3483%	17
C16	CITY OF SANGER	\$2,467,115.45	0.2067%	10
C34	TOWN OF SHADY SHORES	\$661,528.39	0.0554%	3
C37	CITY OF SOUTHLAKE	\$545,516.11	0.0457%	2
C28	CITY OF TROPHY CLUB	\$4,950,326.37	0.4147%	21
C44	CITY OF WESTLAKE	\$1,501.50	0.0001%	<u> </u>
CITY TOTAL		\$252,933,113.59	21.19%	1063
TOTAL A	ALL JURISDICTIONS	\$1,193,572,401.37	100.00%	5000