AT A SPECIAL MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD IN CONFERENCE ROOMS A&B AT THE ADMINISTRATION BUILDING, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 1:00 p.m., September 3, 2009, with the following members:

> Present: Absent: Fay Batch Carol Gregg Ray Beaty, DC Dr. Donnie Norwood

Tom Pace

Dr. Donna C. Smith

Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Shawn Bell, Dr. Steve Brown, David

Finley, Leon Fuller, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley,

Tonya Tillman, Gilbert Vasquez

Others: Gloria Lambert, Shelley Garcia, Dr. Hampton, Gracie Flores, Matt

McGowan, Jeanie Holbrook, Jane Knot, Johnnie Tony, Carol Morrison, Jacqui Gore, Christin Timmons, Karen Pieper Hildebrand, Lt. Mark Rowden, Laura Mathew, Kim Randolph, Lori Newman, Gino Solla, Marcy Madrid, Jessica Clay, Kaycee Kloeppel, Dr. Leslie Chupp, Michael Adkins, Mike Barker, Al Harris, Mike Atkins,

Michelle Edwards, Nelda Loya

Meeting Called to Order: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, called the 20669

Board of Trustees Special Meeting to order.

Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law: Dr. Donna Smith. 20670

Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice

of this meeting.

Request for Approval of OHS Courtyard Renovations: 20671

Norwood, seconded by Pace to approve the OHS Courtyard renovations

as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

**Discussion of Teen Pregnancy:** Leslie E. Chupp, M.D., Regional 20672 Director, Laura W. Bush Institute for Women's Health Associate Professor.

Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology Texas Tech University Health Science Center at Permian Basin, presented data on local, state, and national teen pregnancies along with a video. Gracie Flores and Dr. Hampton with Texas Health Science Center, presented most common consequences of teen pregnancy and highlighted the content of successful prevention programs. Texas Tech University students, Jessica Clay and Kaycee Kloeppel gave an overview of the program being used by Lubbock Independent School District.

**<u>Adjournment</u>**: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, adjourned the Board of Trustees Special Meeting at 2:27 p.m.

<b>Board President</b>	Board Secretary
Dr. Donna Smith	Yollie Wilkins