AT A REGULAR MEETING OF THE BOARD OF TRUSTEES OF THE ECTOR COUNTY INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT HELD AT THE ADMINISTRATION BOARD ROOM, 802 NORTH SAM HOUSTON, ODESSA, ECTOR COUNTY, TEXAS, at 6:00 p.m., February 16, 2010, with the following members:

Present: Absent:

Fay Batch
Ray Beaty, DC
Carol Gregg
Dr. Donnie Norwood
Tom Pace
Dr. Donna C. Smith
Yollie Wilkins

School Officials: Hector Mendez, Janet Baker, Shawn Bell, Dr. Steve Brown, David

Finley, Leon Fuller, Wendy Hines, Brian Moersch, Randy Talley.

Tonya Tillman

Others: Gene O. Collins, Evelyn Garcia, John Alvarez, Bertha Canales, Erin

Wilkerson, Nancy Clark, Pam Harper, Elaine Smith, Johnny & Melanie Carter, Olga Garza, Mary Janssen, Andrea Martin, Bert Beall, Ruby Tucker, Lynn Whisenhunt, Wilma Chastain, Carlos Brito, David Lee, Dennis & Molly Taylor, Galan Ballard, Jeff Middleton, Bryan Weatherford, Lety Martinez, Sharyn Smith, Chuck Isner, M. Salazar, Michael Adkins, Mike Barker, Al Harris,

Roy Waggoner, Tryon Lewis, Mary Franco, Nelda Loya

**20840** Meeting Called to Order: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, called the Board of Trustees Meeting to order.

**Pledge of Allegiance to United States and Texas Flags:** The United States and Texas flag pledges were led by Blanton Elementary School Students, Daisy Nieto and Logan Harrington.

**20842 Invocation:** Invocation was led by Reverend Bob Sams from Westminster Presbyterian Church.

# **20843** Special Presentations:

# National School Counseling Week Proclamation –

Mike Adkins, Director of Public Relations, read the National School Counseling Week Proclamation in honor of District counselors.

### PTA Reflections Contest Winners -

## **VISUAL ARTS**

### Primary

Madison M. Norrid, Reagan
Makenna G. Kouba, Reagan
Isabel Coudding, Reagan
Madison M. Norrid, Reagan
Honorable Mention
Special Recognition

## Intermediate

Brooklyn K. Hamilton, Ireland Award of Excellence Skyler Willis, Ireland Honorable Mention Kaitlyn Hemond, Reagan Special Recognition

## **Middle**

Keerthia Raja, Reagan Award of Excellence

### **LITERATURE**

## Primary

Charity Vore, Reagan Award of Excellence Tamara Lewis, Reagan Honorable Mention

## **Intermediate**

Brinley Gwilliam, Reagan Award of Excellence Jermiah Camacho, Reagan Honorable Mention

#### **PHOTOGRAPHY**

## **Primary**

Tye Sikes, Ireland (received Award of Excellence, Special Recognition, and Honorable Mention)

### Intermediate

Mia Stanley, Reagan Award of Excellence
Mkayla Lewis, Reagan Honorable Mention
Jonathan Alvarez, Ireland Special Award

#### Middle

Gideon Donnar, Ireland Award of Excellence Avery A. Steen, Reagan Honorable Mention

#### MUSIC

<u>Middle</u>

Joseph Vore, Reagan Award of Excellence Alyssa Spickerman, Reagan Honorable Mention

### **FILM PRODUCTION**

Middle

Robert Johnson, Ireland Award of Excellence

DANCE

<u>Intermediate</u>

Jacinda Kingsbury, Ireland Award of Excellence

Middle

Alexis Carter, Reagan Award of Excellence

# Recognition of All-State Band, Choir, and Orchestra Students –

Shawn Bell, Executive Director of Fine Arts, along with Superintendent Mendez and Board President Dr. Smith presented certificates of recognition to the following All-State Band, Choir, and Orchestra Students:

Jordan Beall Permian choir Casev Brito Permian band Barrett Brown Permian choir Kacee Crone Permian choir Andrew Dutchover Permian band OHS band Nuvneet Khandelwal OHS band Jonathan Ramos Permian band Ji'Bri Smith OHS choir Emily Taylor

## World Class Leader in Education Award -

The District's World Class Leader in Education Award was presented to Barbara Nay from Reagan Elementary.

**Verification of Compliance with Open Meeting Law:** Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, verified that the provisions of Section 551.001 of the Texas Government Code have been met in connection with public notice of this meeting.

<u>Approval of Consent Agenda</u>: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Pace that the Consent Agenda be approved as presented, with correction to January 19, 2010 Board minutes item # 20811 and revision to Election Order & Notice page 4.

Motion unanimously approved.

- **Board of Trustees' Continuing Education:** A record of the Board of Trustees' Continuing Education credit hours was presented to the public, as per state requirement.
- Approval of Memorandum of Understanding between Ector County

  Juvenile Probation Department and ECISD: Moved by Gregg, seconded
  by Pace to approve the Memorandum of Understanding between Ector

  County Juvenile Probation Department and ECISD as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Approval of Student School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Revised</u>
<u>Bylaws:</u> Moved by Gregg, seconded by Wilkins to approve the School Health Advisory Council (SHAC) Revised Bylaws as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Approval of Application for Expedited and General State Waivers:</u>
Moved by Gregg, seconded by Beaty to approve the Application for Expedited and General State Waivers as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

**Approval of Traditional School Calendar for 2010-2011:** Moved by Gregg, seconded by Norwood to approve the Traditional School Calendar for 2010-2011 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

**20851** Approval of Budget Amendment #2: Moved by Gregg, seconded by Batch to approve Budget Amendment #2 as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

<u>Approval of Extracurricular Status of 4-H Organization Resolution:</u>
Moved by Gregg, seconded by Pace to approve Extracurricular Status of 4-H Organization Resolution.

Motion unanimously approved.

- Discussion of Board Policies: Cl(Local) School Properties Disposal;
  FC(Local) School Attendance Areas; and FDB(Local) Admissions:
  Intradistrict Transfers and Classroom Assignments [First Reading]:
  Board Policeis: Cl(Local) School Properties Disposal; FC(Local) School Attendance Areas; and FDB(Local) Admissions: Intradistrict Transfers and Classroom Assignments were presented for first reading and discussion.
- Closed Meeting Personnel Matters Section 551.074 of the Texas Government Code (Discussion of Term Contract Renewals, Contract Extensions, and Proposed Non-Renewals for Administrative, Professional Support Employees, and Head Football Coaches/Campus Athletic Coordinators; and Routine Personnel Report) [Board will deliberate the appointment, employment, evaluation, reassignment, duties, discipline, or dismissal of public employees of the District]: Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, convened the Board of Trustees in Executive Session at 6:47p.m.

Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, stated the Board ended its Closed or Executive Session at 7:30 p.m.

Request for Approval of Term Contract Renewals, Contract Extensions, and Proposed Non-Renewals for Administrative, Professional Support Employees, and Head Football Coaches/Campus Athletic Coordinators:

Moved by Gregg, seconded by Pace to approve Term Contract Renewals, Contract Extensions and Proposed Non-Renewals for Administrative, Professional Support Employees, and Head Football Coaches/Campus Athletic Coordinators, as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

**<u>Request for Approval of Routine Personnel Report</u>:** Moved by Gregg, seconded by Wilkins to approve the Routine Personnel Report as presented.

Motion unanimously approved.

**20857 Adjournment:** Dr. Donna Smith, Board President, adjourned the Board meeting at 7:31 p.m.

Board President Board Secretary

Dr. Donna Smith

Yollie Wilkins