## Regular Board Meeting Minutes October 16, 2017

The regular board meeting was called to order by President Joanna Horton at 7:00 pm.

Board members present: Joanna Horton, Jeremy Hatcher, Melissa Schick, Joy

Williams, Nancy Duggan, Chris Taliaferro, Brian Fraser

Board members absent: None

Administrators attending: James Sanders, Chad Collins, Cindy Wiedemann, Gail

Crow, Jeff Cleveland, Kandy Shirey, Grant Miller, Christian

Reed

The Board of Trustees honored the three high school students, Jourdyn Horton, Britney Hitt, and Kayla Henry for being recognized by TVCC and Phi Theta Kappa in the 13th annual "Leaders of Tomorrow" Conference. These students were chosen based on their academic, leadership and extracurricular success during their tenure at Scurry-Rosser High School.

Taliaferro made a motion to approve the consent agenda items. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Hatcher made a motion to approve the 2017-2018 Textbook Committee as listed: Stacy Warren – elementary school, Jan Thompson – middle school/district, Shannon Mitchell – high school, Gail Crow - district. Williams seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Duggan made a motion to approve the Financial Integrity Rating System (FIRST) Report. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Hatcher made a motion to approve through the District of Innovation Plan to teach the courses listed: Professional Communication, Business Information Management I, II, Robotics, Principles of Manufacturing, and Construction Technology. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Hatcher made a motion to approve the Board Resolution regarding TEC Sections 276.001 and 276.004 related to employees' right to vote. Schick seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Hatcher made a motion to approve Budget Amendment 10BA01. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)
Taliaferro made a motion to reschedule the November 20, 2017 board meeting to November 13, 2017. Hatcher seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)
Cindy Wiedemann, chief financial officer, and James Sanders, superintendent, discussed the information items with the board of trustees.
No executive session.
Hatcher made a motion to adjourn at 7:21 pm. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)
Joanna Horton, Board President Melissa Schick, Board Secretary