

GOVERNING BOARD AGENDA ITEM AMPHITHEATER UNIFIED SCHOOL DISTRICT NO. 10

DATE OF MEETING: April 22, 2025

TITLE: Recognition of 2025 Odyssey of the Mind World Teams

BACKGROUND:

Odyssey of the Mind is an international competition that provides creative problem-solving opportunities for students from kindergarten through college. Amphitheater Public Schools continues to be the top district in participation and achievement in the Arizona Odyssey of the Mind program.

Team members apply their creativity to solve long term problems. They spend months preparing and 8 minutes presenting and they also compete in a "spontaneous" competition where they are given the problem right before they present their solution.

This year, 11 teams earned the right to compete during World Finals being held at Michigan State University, May 21-24, 2025. The following students and their coaches are to be commended for their dedication and high level of accomplishment in this academic competition.

Elementary Schools

Innovation Academy Coordinators: Colin Cordell and Patricia Patchin

Innovation Academy VehicleInnovation AcademyTeamPerformance Team1st Place, Division 11st Place, Division 1Coaches: Jessica WheatleyCoaches: Tara Barreraand Andrea Pershingand Biancha Infante

Team: Team:

Brandon Fork
Zophia Pershing
Quinn Peterson
Carmen Schlappi
Jocylyn Shattuck
Owen Wheatley
Gabriella Barrera
Asher Brown
Ella Hollen
Sophia Hollen
Antonio Infante
Brooklynn Schlappi
Gemma Sottosanti

Painted Sky Elementary School Coordinator: Nina Brown

Painted Sky Elementary School Structure Team

1st Place, Division 1

Coaches: Ann Branders and Heidy Quill

Team:

Mats BrandersBen MartinezSepp BrandersLuke QuillCaleb KochGrace Shutey

Joshua Koch

Middle School

Cross Middle School Coordinator: Amanda Campion

Cross Vehicle Team
2nd Place, Division 2
Coaches: Scott Weiler and

Robert Wacker

Team:

Evelyn Cocuzza Kai Doyle

Avery Grembowski-Wacker Lola Grembowski-Wacker

Ashton Kruger

Emilien Preciado Marcoux

Sophie Weiler

Cross Classics Team
2nd Place, Division 2
Coaches: Cori Friezen and

Heather Poyas

Team:

Morgan Friezen Natalie Jacobs Lilly Poyas Tatum Schattuck Lauren Wheatley Cross Structure Team 2nd Place, Division 2 Coach: Amanda Campion

Team:

Brandon Campion Grace Campion Benjamin Chen Vaan Manchester Mason Pecharich

Emilien Preciado Marcoux

Stella Webb

Cross Performance Team

2nd Place, Division 2 **Coach:** Tara Bulleigh

Team:

Cassandra Bradford Kalliope Bradford Cooper Bulleigh-Wilson Owen George Joe Herman Emmy King Zeke Mellinger

High School

Canyon del Oro Coordinator: Lisa DaDeppo

Canyon del Oro High School

Technical Team

1st Place, Division 3

Coaches: Lisa DaDeppo,
Robyn Yewell, and Atty Smith

Team:

Bennett Curran Carter DaDeppo Cal Hipps Jadyn Kraus Taylor Rayl Kyndel Smith Gavin Yewell Canyon del Oro High School

Classics Team
1st Place, Division 3
Coaches: Lisa DaDeppo,
Leann Calvin, Amanda
Campion

Team:
Siria Martinez
Owen McCauley
Justin Miserendino

Eli Mosher Norah Mosher Parker Paterson Kate Schollmeyer Canyon del Oro High School

Structure Team 2nd Place, Division 3 Coach: Leann Calvin

Team:

Bryana Castillo Austin Christian Hailey Collins Andrew Garza Sam Weiler

Canyon del Oro High School Performance Team

2nd Place, Division 3 **Coach:** Leann Calvin

Team:

Lewis Calvin

Eneri Barraza Rocha

Lewis Calvin
Seth Campion
Caysea Cordell
Allison Landin
Jessica Lassiter

Pennilyn Richards

RECOMMENDATION:

This is presented for the Board's information and recognition.

INITIATED BY:

Jen Anderson

Executive Assistant to the Superintendent and Governing Board

Гodd A. Jaeger, J.р., Şuфerintendent

Date: April 14, 2025