# MINUTES OF THE BOARD WORKSHOP Held at the Administration Building in Farmington, Utah August 4, 2015, at 4:06 p.m.

**Members of the Board present:** President Gordon Eckersley, Vice President Mona Andrus, Kathie Bone, Tamara Lowe, Barbara Smith, Larry Smith, and Julie Tanner.

Members of the Board excused: Juliane Berglund, Student Board Member.

Administrators present: Dr. W. Bryan Bowles, Superintendent; Craig Carter, Business Administrator; Pam Park, Assistant Superintendent; Craig Poll, Assistant Superintendent; Rulon Homer, Secondary School Director; Dave Tanner, Secondary School Director; John Sheffield, Elementary School Director; Gwen Hill, Elementary School Director; Helene Van Natter, Elementary School Director; Michelle Beus, Legal Specialist; Patty Norman, Curriculum & Instruction Director; Dr. Patti Brown, Evaluation & Quality Staffing Director; Chris Williams, Community Relations Director; and Shauna Lund, Community Relations Specialist.

## **Welcome and Introductions**

President Gordon Eckersley called the meeting to order at 4:05 p.m.

#### Reverence

The reverence was offered by Larry Smith.

#### **WORKSHOP ITEMS**

# Book Review, Rewired, Chapter 5

President Gordon Eckersley reviewed Chapter 5 of the book, *Rewired* with the Board.

# **AdvancED Accreditation Review**

Dr. Patti Brown reviewed the AdvancED process and the outcomes of the review with the Board.

#### **Proposed State School Board Elections**

President Eckersley and Superintendent Bowles discussed a letter from the Utah School Boards Association regarding a proposal from three legislators about state board elections. USBA asked for our Board members' views and feedback regarding the proposal.

The workshop adjourned at 5:23 p.m.

-----

MINUTES OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION Held at the Administration Building in Farmington, Utah August 4, 2015, at 6:00 p.m. **Members of the Board present:** President Gordon Eckersley, Vice President Mona Andrus, Kathie Bone, Tamara Lowe, Barbara Smith, Larry Smith, and Julie Tanner.

**Members of the Board excused:** Juliane Berglund, Student Board Member.

Administrators present: Dr. W. Bryan Bowles, Superintendent; Craig Carter, Business Administrator; Pam Park, Assistant Superintendent; Craig Poll, Assistant Superintendent; Rulon Homer, Secondary School Director; Dave Tanner, Secondary School Director; John Sheffield, Elementary School Director; Gwen Hill, Elementary School Director; Helene Van Natter, Elementary School Director; Michelle Beus, Legal Specialist; Patty Norman, Curriculum & Instruction Director; Tim Leffel, Finance/Accounting Administrator; Chris Williams, Community Relations Director; and Shauna Lund, Community Relations Specialist.

## **INTRODUCTORY ITEMS**

#### **Welcome and Introduction**

President Gordon Eckersley welcomed everyone to the Board Meeting. Mr. Eckersley gave instructions on public comments.

# Pledge of Allegiance

Kathie Bone led the Pledge of Allegiance.

## **CONSENT ITEMS**

Item 1 – Board Minutes

**Item 2 – Personnel Report** 

Item 3 – Board Calendar

Tamara Lowe made a motion to approve Items 1-3. Larry Smith seconded the motion.

President Gordon Eckersley, Vice President Mona Andrus, Kathie Bone, Tamara Lowe, Barbara Smith, Larry Smith, and Julie Tanner voted in favor. There were none in opposition.

# PUBLIC COMMENT ON BUSINESS ITEMS

There was no public comment on the Business Items.

#### **BUSINESS ITEMS**

# Policy 2HR-401 District Travel Policy for Employees, Officials, or Agents – FIRST READING

Barbara Smith made a motion to approve Policy 2HR-401 District Travel Policy for Employees, Officials, or Agents on FIRST READING. Kathie Bone seconded the motion.

President Gordon Eckersley, Vice President Mona Andrus, Kathie Bone, Tamara Lowe, Barbara Smith, Larry Smith, and Julie Tanner voted in favor. There were none in opposition.

## Policy 4I-005 Assessments of Student Achievement – FIRST READING

Barbara Smith made a motion to approve Policy 4I-005 Assessments of Student Achievement on FIRST READING. Kathie Bone seconded the motion

Mona Andrus made a motion to amend the policy and include the section in the guidelines consequences for opting students out. Tamara Lowe seconded the motion.

President Gordon Eckersley, Vice President Mona Andrus, Kathie Bone, Tamara Lowe, Barbara Smith, Larry Smith, and Julie Tanner voted in favor. There were none in opposition.

### **INFORMATION ITEMS**

## Policy 4I-006 Credit Evaluation Standards and Guidelines

The proposed changes to this policy are minor revisions required to make the policy consistent with law or minor change of circumstance.

# Policy 4I-103 Work-Based Learning for Intern

The proposed changes to this policy are minor revisions required to make the policy consistent with law or minor change of circumstance.

# Policy 41-202 School Library Media Centers

The proposed changes to this policy are minor revisions required to make the policy consistent with law or minor change of circumstance.

#### **Bond Presentation**

Craig Carter showed the video and PowerPoint presentation used at the Bond Meetings. The Board offered suggestions that could be used in the presentation.

# **Board and Superintendent Reports**

Julie Tanner reported she attended the Go Math training recently held at Burton Elementary.

Barbara Smith reported she attended a CLASS Conference to train beneficiaries of Trust Lands funds.

Kathie Bone reminded the Board of the upcoming Child Spree program on Friday, August 7<sup>th</sup>. This program, sponsored by the Foundation, helps provide students in need with school clothes.

Larry Smith reported he attended the AP Summer Institute at Woods Cross High School. He congratulated those who sponsored the institute.

## PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD

**Drew Chamberlain**, Layton resident, expressed concerns about the bond.

Renee McDonald, Kaysville resident, discussed a concern with busing at Kaysville Jr. High.

Tamara Lowe made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Kathie Bone seconded the motion.

President Gordon Eckersley, Vice President Mona Andrus, Kathie Bone, Tamara Lowe, Barbara Smith, Larry Smith, and Julie Tanner voted in favor. There were none in opposition.

The meeting adjourned at 7:03 p.m.