Minutes of Special Meeting November 16, 2016 The Board of Trustees San Diego Independent School District

A Special Meeting of the Board of Trustees of San Diego Independent School District was held Wednesday, November 16, 2016, beginning at 7:00 PM in the SDISD Old Main Library, 609 Labbe Ave., San Diego, Texas 78384.

The meeting was called to order by Mr. Rupert Canales, Jr., at 7:00 p.m.

The Pledge of Allegiance and to the Texas Flag was led by Dr. Samuel Bueno, Superintendent of Schools and a moment of silence took place.

The following Board of Trustees was present:

Rupert Canales, Jr., President

Rene Valerio, Vice-President

Christine A. Santos, Secretary

Carlos Espinosa, Member

Ralph Saenz, III., Member

Libby Vela, Member

Absent was Mr. Pete Guerra, Member

Quorum was established.

Action Items:

Canvas of School Board Elections:

Discussion and possible action to canvas the General Election that was held on Tuesday, November 8, 2016 and to approve the summary of precinct returns.

• Dr. Samuel Bueno announce the results of the General Election that was held on Tuesday, November 8, 2016 and announced the summary of precinct returns as follows:

	Jim Wells County	Duval County	<u>Totals</u>
Place 1 Manuel Molina	162	929	1091
Ruperto Canales, Jr.	91	803	894
Place 2 Carlos Espinosa	211	1248	1459
Place 3 Pete A. Guerra	195	1122	1317
Place 4 Rene Valerio	120	886	1006
Antonio (Trey) Contreras	46	213	259
Tomasita C. (Tommie) Salinas	87	639	726

• Motion was made by Mr. Ralph Saenz, III and seconded by Mr. Carlos Espinosa to approve the canvassing of the General Election that was held on Tuesday, November 8, 2016 and to approve the summary of precinct returns as presented and read. Vote taken, motion carried with a vote of 6-0

Administer Oath of Office to newly elected School Board of Trustees.

• The Oath of Office was administered to the newly and elected School Board of Trustees Mr. Manuel Molina, Mr. Rene Valerio and Mr. Carlos Espinosa by Cynthia C. Gutierrez, Notary Public in and for the State of Texas.

Action Item:

. Consideration and possible approval to Re-Organize the Officers of the San Diego ISD Board of Trustees.

Mr. Rene Valerio, Vice President, opened the nominations.

A motion was made by Mr. Manuel Molina to nominated Mr. Carlos Espinosa, President, Mrs. Libby Vela, Vice President and Mr. Ralph Saenz, Secretary

A second motion was made by Mr. Rene Valerio to nominated Mr. Ralph Saenz, President, Mr. Carlos Espinosa, Vice President and Manuel Molina, Secretary

A third motion was made by Mrs. Christine Santos to nominated Mr. Rene Valerio, President, Mr. Ralph Saenz, Vice President and Mr. Carlos Espinosa, Secretary

A vote was taken and motion was carried with a vote of 4-2 on the first motion made by Mr. Manuel Molina to nominated Mr. Carlos Espinosa, President, Mrs. Libby Vela, Vice President and Mr. Ralph Saenz, Secretary. Therefore the newly elected Officers of the Board are as follows:

Mr. Carlos Espinosa, President Mrs. Libby Vela, Vice President Mr. Ralph Saenz, Secretary

Motion was made by Mrs. Libby Vela and seconded by Mrs. Christine Santos to adjourn the meeting, vote taken, motion carried with a vote of 6-0 and the meeting adjourned at 7:19 p.m.

APPROVED:	
Board President	
ATTEST:	
Secretary	