HB 5 — School District Evaluation of Performance in Community & Student Engagement; School Board Presentation, June 23, 2014

HOUSE BILL 5 (HB5)

Created Community and Student Engagement Accountability Rating (TEC 39.0545 – Section 46 of HB 5)

WHAT IS TEC 39.0545?

Texas Education Code 39.0545

- Requires each district to evaluate the district's performance and the performance of each campus in the district on community and student engagement (8 factors) and in policy compliance (1 factor)
- Requires every district to assign itself and each campus a rating of exemplary, recognized, acceptable or unacceptable for both overall performance and each evaluation factor
- Districts must submit ratings to TEA and make publicly available August 8th of each school year.

NINE FACTORS TO BE EVALUATED

- Fine arts
- Wellness and physical education
- Community and parent involvement
- ≥21st Workforce development program
- ≥2nd language acquisition
- Digital language acquisition program
- Dropout prevention strategies
- Educational programs for GT students
- Compliance with statutory reporting and policy requirements

5 PHASE FRAMEWORK TO DEVELOP CRITERIA

- ▶ Phase 1: Laying the Foundation
- ▶ Phase 2: Preparing for the Gathering of Information/Input
- Phase 3: Rubrics will be finalized and shared with campuses through Share Point site by the end of this month
- Phase 4: Rating Process- district and campus will rate themselves & upload documentation of rating by 2nd week in May
- Phase 5: Final Ratings will be reviewed by district and presented to School Board.
 - ➤Our ratings will be made public by August 8, 2014.

HOUSE BILL 5 FULL COMMITTEE MEMBERSHIP/ ROLE

Michael Adkins, Communications

Molly Brinkley, Subcommittee chair

Carla Byrne, Subcommittee chair

Thomas Crowe, Member

Carolyn Gonzalez, Member

Wendy Hines, Member

Deborah Lieb, Subcommittee chair

Dr. Daniel Loudenback, Subcommittee chair

Subcommittee chair

Michael Neiman, Subcommittee chair

chair Elaine Smith, Member

Julia Clay, Chair

Roy Garcia, Member

Pam Harper, Subcommittee chair

Dr. Stephanie Howard, Member

Omega Loera, Subcommittee chair

Pilar Moreno- Recio,

Scott Randolph, Subcommittee
Nancy Vanley, Member