Denton Independent School District

Board of Trustees Certificates of Recognition April 14, 2009

DENTON HIGH

Student earns top mathematics score

Trevor Davila, junior at Denton High, recently was awarded an invitation to the American Invitational Mathematics Exam after scoring a 100.5 at the American Mathematics Competition.

The AMC and AIME tests are the first and second stage selections for a position on the United States Math Olympiad Team.

Only five percent of all students taking the AMC 12 Test scored at 97.5 or better. The second round AIME test is truly challenging. The test has 15 questions, is 3 hours long and all answers are integers from 000 through 999.

Other Denton High students who earned commendable AMC 12 scores were R.J. Ponder, sophomore; Eric Willis, junior; Patrick Burke, junior; Lee Chen, sophomore; Tim De Reuse, junior, and Jose Gallegos, junior; Gabe Klein, junior; Sylvia Li, junior; Stephen Place, junior; Clarissa Root, junior; Christine Ryu, junior, and Jesse Valencia, junior.

Fred Mueller is the Denton High Math Club sponsor and UIL academic math coach.

DENTON HIGH

Denton High earns top student council awards

The Denton High Student Council recently was honored by earning the Sweepstakes Council award and the Top Ten Project award from the Texas Association of Student Councils at the TASC state convention in Arlington.

The Denton High Student Council has earned the Sweepstakes award for eight consecutive years. It is the highest award given by the state association.

The award was granted to 196 schools out of approximately 1300 TASC schools in Texas.

In order to receive the award, the council had to be commended in five areas: drugs, alcohol, safety and health, chaired by juniors Libby Knight and Will Hayes; energy and environment, chaired by senior Ryan Davidson; pride and patriotism, chaired by senior Katie Franks; community service, chaired by senior Priscilla Jasso; and outstanding student council, chaired by junior Kelsie Vogds.

The council earned the Top Ten Project Award by submitting the school's Homecoming Carnival project. The project's details were outlined in the award application by senior Isaiah Laws.

Student council members, Corwyn Raesz, senior, and Makenna Wiedower, junior, made nine presentations at the state convention about the Denton High carnival.

During the convention, Will Hayes, junior, was sworn in as the new TASC president. He will serve as the chairmen of the TASC board of directors and will represent Texas at the national convention in Denver and at other Texas workshops.

Kimberly Thaggard, Denton High student council advisor, will represent Denton High on the TASC board of directors as the advisor to the president.

The student council's leadership team who attended the convention were: Trent Erwin, Priscilla Jasso, Macy Koontz, Isaiah Laws and Katie Franks, seniors; and Will Hayes, Kelsie Vogds, Libby Knight and Kate Morales, juniors.

The Denton High student council advisors are Beth Hughes and Kimberly Thaggard.

RYAN HIGH

Students named state finalists by Library of Congress

Ryan High recently announced that six Advanced Placement English III students were named as Texas state finalists in the Library of Congress's Letters About Literature Contest.

The following Ryan High juniors were selected: Erin Elliott, Kate McPherson, Charlotte Enoch, Edgar Coronado, Jenni Marshall and Chloe Callaway.

As state finalists, the students will have their letters advanced to the judges for consideration in determining the state winner.

Julie Tolle and Traci Burt are Ryan High AP English teachers.

RYAN HIGH

Student recognized for volunteer service

Jennifer Cruz, Ryan High senior, recently received the President's Volunteer Service Award by The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards program for providing numerous volunteer hours at local hospitals.

Jennifer is an active member in the Ryan High student council and is involved in the school's health science and technology program. She also works in the school's Career and Technology Education office.

The Prudential Award recognizes Americans of all ages who have volunteered time to serve their communities and their country.

The Prudential Spirit of Community Awards program recognizes young people across America for outstanding community service activities. The program is sponsored by the Prudential Financial in partnership with the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP),

"The recipients of these awards vividly demonstrate that young people across America are making remarkable contributions to the health and vitality of their communities," stated John R. Strangfeld, chairman and CEO of Prudential Financial. "They truly deserve all of the praise and encouragement we can give them."