MINUTES

BOARD OF EDUCATION REGULAR BOARD MEETING JUNE 12, 2017

BUDGET WORKSHOP

The Board met from 5:30-6:30 p.m. to work on the 2017-18 budget.

PLEDGE AND INVOCATION

The Wylie Independent School District's Board of Trustees met in regular session on Monday, June 12, 2017, at 6:30 p.m. in the Wylie Early Childhood Library. The pledge of allegiance was recited and the invocation was given by Chris McCurley.

Board members present were: Mike Awtry, Mark McClellan, Chris McCurley, Stephen Lowry, Steve Keenum, and Darrell Moore. Abe Templeton was absent.

School personnel present were: Joey Light, Craig Bessent, Tony Spradlin, Mike Kerley, Rob Goodenough, Mitch Davis, Ricky Bacon, Lisa Bessent, Will Brewer, Will Brewer, Caren Christian, Terry Hagler, Lisa Salmon, Carol Smith, and Desiree Clardy.

Guests presents: See sign-in sheet.

SPECIAL PRESENTATION

The board recognized state tennis champions Nikhil Kalla and Davyn Williford.

OATH OF OFFICE

The oath of office was administered by Craig Bessent to newly elected board member Steve Keenum - Place 5.

REORGANIZATION OF BOARD

Darrell Moore nominated Steve Keenum for President of the Board. There being no further nominations, Darrell Moore made a motion that nominations cease and Steve Keenum be elected by acclamation. Stephen Lowry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

The floor was opened for nominations for Vice President. Stephen Lowry nominated Darrell Moore as Vice President. Stephen Lowry made a motion that nominations cease and Darrell Moore be elected by acclamation. Mike Awtry seconded the motion.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 12, 2017 PAGE TWO

Nominations were opened for Secretary. Darrell Moore nominated Stephen Lowry. There being no further nominations, Darrell Moore made a motion that nominations cease and Stephen Lowry be elected by acclamation. Mark McClellan seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

MINUTES OF PREVIOUS MEETING

The minutes of the May 8, 2017 meeting were read and approved as presented.

CONSENT AGENDA

Mike Awtry made a motion to approve the consent agenda. The motion was seconded by Stephen Lowry.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

ELECT TASB VOTING DELEGATE

Mark McClellan made a motion to select Steve Keenum as voting delegate and Mike Awtry will serve as alternate to the TASB Convention in October 2017. Darrell Moore seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF RESOLUTION TO BECOME MEMBER OF T.E.E.B.C.

Darrell Moore made a motion to approve the resolution to become a member of Texas Educational Employers Benefit Cooperative. Mark McClellan seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF LOCAL POLICY UPDATE 108

Mark McClellan made a motion to approve Local Policy Update 108; Affecting Local Policies: EF(LOCAL): INSTRUCTIONAL RESOURCES EFA (LOCAL): INSTRUCTIONAL RESOURCES -INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS EFAA (LOCAL): INSTRUCTIONAL MATERIALS -SELECTION AND ADOPTION EHDB (LOCAL): ALTERNATIVE METHODS FOR EARNING CREDIT - CREDIT BY EXAMINATION WITH PRIOR INSTRUCTION EIF (LOCAL): ACADEMIC ACHIEVEMENT - GRADUATION

EL (LOCAL): CAMPUS CHARTERS

GKB (LOCAL): COMMUNITY RELATIONS - ADVERTISING AND FUNDRAISING

Mike Awtry seconded the motion.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 12, 2017 PAGE THREE

Darrell Moore made a motion and seconded by CONSIDER A Stephen Lowry to adopt a resolution authorizing RESOLUTION **AUTHORIZING THE** the issuance of maintenance tax notes; levying ISSUANCE OF MAINT. an annual ad valorem tax and providing for the TAX NOTES; LEVYING security for and payment of said notes; AN ANNUAL AD VALOREMauthorzing the sale of said notes; and enacting TAX AND PROVIDING other provisions relating to the subject. FOR THE SECURITY FOR AND PAYMENT OF SAID The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against. NOTES; AUTHORIZING THE SALE OF SAID NOTES; & ENACTING OTHER PROVISIONS RELATING TO THE SUBJECT

CONSIDER AN ORDER Stephen Lowry made a motion and seconded by AUTHORIZING THE Mark McClellan to adopt an order authorizing ISSUANCE OF TIME the issuance of time warrants; levying an WARRANTS; LEVYING annual ad valorem tax and providing for the AN ANNUAL AD VALOREMsecurity for and payment of said time warrants; TAX AND PROVIDING authorizing the sale of said time warrants; FOR THE SECURITY FOR and enacting other provisions relating to AND PAYMENT OF SAID the subject . TIME WARRANTS; AUTHORIZING THE SALE The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against. OF SAID TIME WARRANTS; & ENACTING OTHER PRO-

CONSIDER A ING OFFICIAL INTENT TO

REIMBURSE COSTS

OF PROJECTS

SUBJECT

VISIONS RELATING TO THE

Chris McCurley made a motion to approve the RESOLUTION EXPRESS- resolution allowing the general fund to be reimbursed for any capital expenditures paid since that date from the proceeds of the maintenance tax note. Mike Awtry seconded the motion.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

CONSIDER APPROVAL OF CONSTRUCTION MANAGER AT RISK FIRM FOR COLONY HILL PROJECT

Stephen Lowry made a motion to approve W.B. Kibler Construction Company as the Construction Manager at Risk firm and authorize Joey Light to negotiate and sign contract for the Colony Hill project. Mike Awtry seconded the motion.

SCHOOL BOARD MINUTES JUNE 12, 2017 PAGE FOUR

INFORMATION ITEMS

Other items discussed but no action taken included: Final ADA report, Class size reduction report, Summer board meetings & workshops, Construction report, TASB Convention-Dallas, and 2017 STAAR Test results.

EXECUTIVE SESSION

The Board went into executive session under the authority of Article 6242-17, Section 2, Revised Civil Statutes of Texas and Education Code 16.176 from 8:05 P.M. to 8:36 P.M. to attend to personnel matters and employee benefits.

PERSONNEL RECOMMENDATIONS

A motion was made by Darrell Moore and seconded by Mike Awtry to employ Lisa Reed, Deena Rozeboom, Erin Davis, Consuelo Griffin, Stephanie Willis, Mark Butz, Sherri Shaw, Anne Post, Julie Brown, Cami Zimmerman, Erin Kluzek, Elizabeth Rapstine, Stephanie Mouat, Jonathan Fisher, Krystal Martin, Grant Martin, Allie Harris, Kimberly Fisher, Shannon Conaway, Ashlyn Ray, Stephanie Hood, Stephanie Holloway, Ashley Stegemoeller, Scottie Sanchez and Cody Smith on a one-year contract for 10 months for the 2017-18 school year; subject to assignment.

Board employ David McKnight and Chris Brannan on a one-year contract for 11 months for the 2017-18 school year; subject to assignment.

The motion carried: 5 for, 0 against.

OFFICIAL ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to discuss, a motion was made by Stephen Lowry and seconded by Chris McCurley to adjourn. Official time was 8:37 P.M.

Date		
	President	
	Secretary	