Regular Board Meeting Minutes January 16, 2017

The regular board meeting was called to order by President Jeremy Hatcher at 7:00 pm.

Board members present: Jeremy Hatcher, Chris Taliaferro, Joy Williams, Brian

Fraser, Nancy Duggan, Melissa Schick, Joanna Horton

Board members absent: None

Administrators attending: James Sanders, Chad Collins, Cindy Wiedemann, Gail

Crow, Vickie Griffith, Christian Reed, Grant Miller

Special Recognition was given to the board by the Principals representing their campuses and the administration for the continued service to the district. Erik Scott, at-will employee, was introduced to the board as the new Director of Operations and Safety.

Horton made a motion to approve the consent agenda items. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Duggan made a motion to approve the Texas Academic Performance Report (TAPR). Williams seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Taliaferro made a motion to approve the recommendation to set May 6, 2017 as the Board of Trustees Election Day. Schick seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Horton made a motion to approve the recommendation of the changes to Board Policy GKD (Local). Duggan seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Duggan made a motion to approve the District of Innovation Committee Members as presented: Christian Reed, JD Berryhill, Cindy Palmer, Brian Smith, Sonnie Sikes, Brian Pierce, Cathie Stringer, Grant Miller, Michelle Pechal, Vickie Griffith, Taylor Reneau, Gail Crow, Cindy Wiedemann, James Sanders, Jeremy Hatcher. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Duggan made a motion to approve the recommendation to form a facility committee as provided in Board Policy BDB (Local). Williams seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Jeremy Hatcher, board president, reviewed the board training hours.

James Sanders, superintendent, and Cindy Wiedemann, business manager discussed the information items with the board of trustees.

The board was called into executive session on January 16, 2017 by President Jeremy Hatcher according to Section 551.074 of the Texas Open Meeting Act at 7:35 pm to discuss the contract, duties, reassignment, discipline and evaluation of superintendent, assistant superintendent, business manager, athletic director, curriculum director, principals, counselors, assistant principals, teachers, and at-will employees.

The board returned to open session at 7:50 pm.

Horton made a motion to extend James Sanders' superintendent contract to June 30, 2020. Williams seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Adjourn – 7:52 pm	
Jeremy Hatcher, Board President	Melissa Schick, Board Secretary