Regular Board Meeting Minutes January 12, 2015

The regular board meeting was called to order by President Lanny Orman, Jr. at 7:00 pm.

Board members present: Kenny Keller, Nancy Duggan, Lanny Orman, Jr., Randy

Robertson, Nick Vann, Joanna Horton, Chris Taliaferro

Board members absent: None

Administrators attending: Rhonda Porter, Chad Collins, Heather Jestis, Cindy

Wiedemann, Gail Crow, Jason Bachtel, Tara Bachtel, Vickie

Griffith

Guest: Stephen Dubner

Taliaferro made a motion to approve the consent agenda items. Vann seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

The board was called into executive session on January 12, 2015 at 7:04 pm by President Lanny Orman, Jr. according to Tex. Gov't Code 551.074, 551.082, and 51.0821 to discuss Parent/Student Level III Appeal.

The board returned to open session at 7:53 pm.

Taliaferro made a motion to deny the Level III Appeal and agree with the decision made at the Level II Meeting. Horton seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Duggan made a motion to approve the Texas Academic Performance Report (TAPR). Vann seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Duggan made a motion to approve the District Improvement Plan. Horton seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Taliaferro made a motion to set May 9, 2015 as the Board of Trustees Election Date. Vann seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Duggan made a motion to decline A. W. Brown-Fellowship Leadership Academy's request to increase enrolment, add an additional campus, and expand the geographic boundary. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Robertson made a motion to decline Pioneer Technology and Arts Academy's request as a proposed charter school. Vann seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Vann made a motion to decline Athlos Academy's request as a proposed charter school. Horton seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Taliaferro made a motion to adopt Update 101with the following change to CH (local) leaving the amount the superintendent can spend without board approval at \$30,000. Robertson seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Duggan made a motion to reschedule the March 16, 2015 regular board meeting to March 23, 2015. Robertson seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Lanny Orman, Jr., board president and Jason Bachtel, athletic director discussed the Athletic Handbook as presented to the parents at the beginning of the school year. Items to possibly be added: Parents Conduct/Limitations, etc.

Rhonda Porter and Chad Collins, high school principal discussed the duties and job descriptions of the FFA sponsors. Guidelines to be reviewed at next meeting.

Duggan made a motion to set March 21, 2015 at 8:30 am as the date for the board to tour the campuses. Vann seconded the motion. Motion carried (6-1) with Robertson opposed.

Robertson made a motion to add Cindy Wiedemann, business manager, to the 2014-2015 Risk Management Fund Renewal Proposal. Taliaferro seconded the motion. Motion carried una. (7-0)

Rhonda Porter, superintendent and Cindy Wiedemann, business manager, discussed the information items with the board. Items of interest: TVCC donation for CNA class - \$450, donation of two Physio-Control LIFEPAK 1000 by Everett Joles, change in software from TEAMS to TEXIS, Equity Center watch bills HB645, HB654, TVEC rebate \$1782.49, Hatcher Sanitation awarded one-year trash pick-up contract, possible removable of portable buildings.

The board was called into executive session on January 12, 2015 at 8:44 pm by President Lanny Orman, Jr. according to Section 551.074 of the Texas Open Meeting Act to discuss personnel.

The board returned to open session at 11:25 pm.

Horton made a motion to extend the superintendent, Rhonda Porter's contract by an additional year at a salary of \$120,000 and to continue the technology allotment of \$200. Robertson seconded the motion. Motion carried (6-1 with Taliaferro opposed).	
Robertson made a motion to adjourn at 11:3 carried una. (7-0)	0 pm. Horton seconded the motion. Motion
Langu Orman In Doord Dustidant	New ey Dynason, Decard Connectors
Lanny Orman, Jr., Board President	Nancy Duggan, Board Secretary